The Moment I Have Been Neglecting My Family, I Mean Working For

I started considering themes for Ben’s first birthday back in November. I debated for a long time between “Hungry, Hungry Hippos” and “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” since my baby is, in fact, very hungry (he ate ginger last night when we went out for sushi. Yes, ginger. He eats EVERYTHING- but that’s another story). I settled on the caterpillar when I found this cake online: the inspiration for the whole party.

I was up until at least 2AM every night for three weeks, trying to make sure I didn’t leave out a single detail:

the centerpieces

autograph book

party favors for the kids

party favors for the adults

The Dessert Table!!!!!!!

cookies

cake pops

more cookies!

And, of course, the cake (or cupcakes cake- to be more specific):

I was verfortunate to choose a bug themed party this time of year. I found so much inspiration every where I looked. The party favors cost me all of $2.00 each! I found both the bug viewer and the butterfly nets in the dollar section at Target. All I had to do was add a little personalization (thanks to my very talented friend Marisa!!!!!) and some cellophane and ribbon. Aren’t they adorable?

I hope you enjoyed looking at the party pictures as much as I enjoyed putting it together and the birthday boy and his sister enjoyed partying with their friends!

15 thoughts on “The Moment I Have Been Neglecting My Family, I Mean Working For

  1. Speaking from the couch where I spend quite a bit of time. Steph, you did an awesome job with this party. The hours you put into this party was amazing. You are the best of the best of the best sir (Maam)! Keep in the good work, balancing being a mother, wife, and one hell of a baker, cookie engineer!

  2. fantastic!!!!

    i LOVE the cake pop heads, the cookies, and the partially eaten fruit cookies… pure genius!

    such a fun party… and thanks for your comment on my flickr photo!

    ^__^

  3. Stephanie — what a wonderful party!! I loved all the things you did to make it so special for your little guy!!
    A client of mine is having a Hungry Caterpillar party for her little girl and has asked me to make caterpillar cookie favors and now cookie pops for the cake of the food items he ate. Would you mind if I used your photos as inspiration? I will link back to you as your cookies and cookie pops are AMAZING!!! Thanks so much! — Kara

  4. Pingback: Halloween!!!! (And My Kids Are Going To Hate Me For This One Day) (Day 31) « elliesbitesdecoratedcookies

Leave a Reply

