Peep Filled Chocolate Cupcakes (an experiment)

I saw these really cute chocolate covered tuxedo peeps on The Family Kitchen a while back and I REALLY wanted to make them to send into school with Ellie. I found a rainbow of bunny peeps at Walmart and bought two packs of each color. After a few, it was obvious that mine were not going to turn out as cute as the ones I saw online. Probably because I decided to put them on sticks, and didn’t wait for the white chocolate to harden completely before dipping them into the dark. I don’t have that kind of patience, and I ran out of white chocolate. Needless to say, I wound up with four packs of Peeps slowly going stale in the pantry.

This morning, I decided to save those Peeps from their hard, stale, fate. I am sure I saw peep filled cupcakes somewhere online, but no search brought them up so I made my own.

I started with a recipe for basic chocolate cupcakes (the one I usually use is from “Hello, Cupcake” by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson). I cut the Peeps in half (ok, I beheaded the bunnies), and I wasn’t sure if they would turn out best if I placed the halves on top of the batter or buried them underneath. So I did both:

Bunnies on top.....

Bunnies underneath.

After baking:

The bunnies on top stayed on top, they just melted. The buried bunnies completely disintegrated.

A little empty inside, where a bunny once was.

So I topped those hollow cupcakes with a little fluff and popped them into the broiler for a few minutes.

The cupcakes on top are just topped with fluff and sprinkled with yellow sanding sugar, the ones in the middle are the bunny heads that melted on top, and the bottom cupcakes are topped with fluff and broiled.

"Peep-a-boo!"

(If anyone knows who did this originally… the post I may or may not have seen sometime in the last few weeks, please let me know so I can link back to the original. Thanks!)

One thought on “Peep Filled Chocolate Cupcakes (an experiment)

  1. Ok so this is a woman that is not afraid to accept a challenge. I sit on the couch watching my wife make Gluten free cookies, and still decorate like a champ. There is nothing she can not do with a rolling pin and a piping tip. Stephanie is in a league of her own and is the most talented person I know……..

    I Love you

    Bryan “I eat cookies” Fromkin

Leave a Reply

