Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcake

I am very new to this blogging thing. I know the two biggest rules: One- be yourself and write about what makes you happy (or miserable if that’s the type of blog you write) and, two- always give credit to your sources!!

I know good recipes and tutorials help, but it is great photography that catches the eye. I am working on this. I have a great camera as far as “point and shoot”, and I keep saying my next big purchase will be a really good digital camera with all sorts of cool lenses and a big book on photoshop for dummies. I am also doing extensive research on Pinterest, trying to find the best photography tutorials and DIY lighting and backdrops… but I keep getting distracted by all of the shiny things :)

What I am completely clueless about is follow-up. As in- how am I going to follow up this recipe? I have a couple of things in the works, and a couple of things floating around in my head. But NOTHING like Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcakes With Cookie Dough Frosting, Topped With A Chocolate Chip Roll-out Cookie Decorated To Look Like A Chocolate Chip Cookie!!!!!!!!!!

pour yourself a cold glass of milk and read on

Cupcake concept inspired by, and cupcake recipe by Martha Stewart. Frosting recipe adapted from  “The Girl Who Ate Everything“. The recipe for the cookie base is from “The New Basics Cookbook”. The cookie topper is my own recipe.

First, I will outline the steps involved, then I will give the recipe.

  1. Make the roll-out cookie dough, cut out with a circle cutter, and if you want, use a scalloped circle to add a bite. Bake, cool, decorate, and let dry. (I used light brown and piped dark brown “chips” using the wet-on-wet method -for an excellent how-to check out SweetSugarBelle.com.)
  2. Make the base dough. Line 24 standard cupcake/muffin tins with cupcake wrappers, and press about a tablespoon of cookie dough into the bottom of the cups.
  3. Make the cupcake batter, add two tablespoons of cupcake batter to the cups on top of the cookie dough. Bake.
  4. Make frosting.
  5. After cupcakes have baked and cooled, top with frosting and cookie.

Roll-out dough:

  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips (I usually like Ghiradelli’s but I couldn’t find them this time, so I used Nestles)
  1. Cream butter and both sugars until smooth
  2. Add egg and vanilla and beat until smooth
  3. Add flour and salt and beat until smooth
  4. Fold in mini chips
  5. Chill for about an hour
  6. Roll out and cut shapes. Place on parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 11 minutes. Allow to cool completely.
  7. Decorate with royal icing

(Oops… just realized that I forgot to mention to preheat oven then bake cookies at 350 degrees… sorry!)

Royal Icing (this is my version which, after much trial and error, I have found works best for me. It’s more of a cross between RI and glaze I think…):

  • 16 ounces confectioners sugar (I always weigh it)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons meringue powder
  • 6 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla (clear flavoring if I plan to keep my icing white, pure extract if I will be dying it anyway)
  • 1 overflowing teaspoon of light corn syrup
  1. Place sugar and meringue powder in the bowl of a stand mixer with the whisk attachment
  2. Add water and start beating on a very slow speed
  3. Add vanilla and corn syrup and increase speed to medium
  4. Beat for 2-3 minutes, stop and scrape down sides with a rubber spatula. Continue beating for another minute or two until soft peaks form. Transfer to a tupperware for storage.
  5. Spoon the amount you will be using into a small bowl and add gel or paste food coloring and water until you reach the color and consistency you need, let sit covered with a damp towel for several minutes  to allow air bubbles to rise to the surface so you can pop them with a spatula (or a plastic baby spoon which is what I use).

I realize that I don’t beat my icing to a stiff peak, like EVERYONE recommends. This is just the way I have found that gives me a shiny smooth cookie. I also get cratering a lot, maybe my consistency  is the reason? If you can offer any advice on that, please leave me a comment!

By cratering, I mean the little caved in areas in the caterpillar's small sections.

I just realized I am dangerously close to breaking another unspoken blogging rule. This post is getting way too long. So go ahead and make  your roll out cookie toppers. They will store nicely in an airtight container. I will be back later this week with the rest of the recipe.

Thanks for reading!

I shared this post with Hugs and Cookies XOXO

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcake

Leave a Reply

