One Way to Use Leftover Royal Icing

My grandmother is one of the most stylish people I know. When I was growing up, she and her best friend owned a pocketbook store, and her personal collection holds bags designed by some of the people that today’s designers get their inspiration from.

So I am not too surprised that a month ago, she asked if I could make her some Fourth of July/ butterfly cookies for her friend’s birthday. The reason I am not surprised is that I have seen so many cookies lately incorporating patriotic colors, and shapes that are not usually thought of as patriotic. Even though I know she is not scouring the internet looking for cookie ideas, she still manages to be a little ahead of everyone else.

Since there wasn’t a whole lot of detail on these cookies, I had a lot of icing left. So I made a little treat for my husband.

This is what you need….your left over royal icing (10/20 second consistency is best), and a sheet of regular printer paper.

Pipe small dots in rows of 4. Pipe 4 or 5 rows then repeat with the next color.

It is really difficult to pipe with your left hand and take pictures with your right. I give even more credit to the cookie bloggers who photograph their tutorials regularly!

When you have filled the page, down and across, let dry overnight or at least a few hours. Cut your paper into strips and you’ve got your own candy dots. Remember them? Remember how they never quite came off the paper entirely? These don’t either. But they are entirely customizable. You can make them in any color for any occasion!

Enjoy. Don’t forget to let me know if you do this :)

I linked up to Show and Tell Saturdays at Be Different Act Normalย and I’m Lovin It Fridays at Tidy Mom

2 thoughts on “One Way to Use Leftover Royal Icing

Leave a Reply

