White Chocolate Raspberry Pancakes

I know, I know. I am a page about cookies and I keep posting pancake recipes. But, honestly, pancakes and cookies are so similar. Before I discovered that I love to decorate sugar cookies, chocolate chip cookies were my baking “to-bring-to-parties-as-a-hostess-gift” staple. At one point, I tried getting creative by throwing in ingredients other than chocolate chips. Some were successful (blueberry white chocolate chip), some not (fruity cheerios). Since it is so much easier in my hectic, crazy busy life, to find the time- 30 minutes in the morning- to make pancakes, then it is to find the time to mix, chill, roll out, bake, cool, ice, and dry cookies, you get pancakes more often than cookies. After all, we all need to eat breakfast, right?

Since I try to limit added sugar to our regular meals and snacks (going on the assumption that they are going to get plenty of sugar elsewhere) I was happy to find this image on Pinterest.  Here was a way to add a lot of flavor, without adding a lot of chocolate (or cocoa butter – not actual chocolate as my dad, the chocolate snob, would argue). THEN when the pancake cooks, and the chocolate chip melts, the flavor oozes through the berry and turns incredible.

Use your favorite basic pancake recipe, or use mine.

My recipe makes roughly 15 tablespoon sized pancakes and I wanted about 2-3 raspberries in each so I stuffed about 30 raspberries with one white chocolate chip (I used Ghiardellis) and added them to my batter and baked as usual.

For the topping, I made a simple syrup of 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup water, boiling until the sugar disappears. Then I added a handful of raspberries, stirring until the berries broke down, then continued to boil until reduced slightly. I placed a tablespoon of white chocolate chips into a freezer bag and microwaved at 50% power in 20 second intervals until melted then snipped of a small piece from the a corner of the bag. I piled 3 pancakes onto  a plate, topped with a teaspoon of syrup, a drizzle of chocolate, and a couple of fresh berries.

They were YUMMY.

Right now, I’ve got some dough chilling in the fridge and some spare time this weekend. I promise that not only will you get some cookies next week, but you will also be getting a tutorial. (YAY!… are you as excited as I am? Probably not….)

Have a great weekend! :)

Leave a Reply

