Pumpkin Waffles (Day 6)

Bryan- “I can’t find the recipe I’ve been using for buttermilk waffles….”

Me- “How about pumpkin waffles?”

Flash back to last night, when Bryan offered to let me sleep in for a bit while he got up and made breakfast for the kids.

Flash forward again to this morning, where I am in the kitchen mixing up some pumpkin waffles for the kids.

Sigh….

Recipe only slightly adapted from Better Homes and Gardens Kid Favorites Made Healthy (and by adapted, I mean i would usually make this recipe as it is in the book, but I was missing some of the ingredients, oh- and the origional recipe makes pancakes, we cooked them on the waffle iron).

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 packed Tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I would have used more, but this was one of the ingredients I ran out of)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2c buttermilk (we use skim milk and curdle it by adding 1tbsp white vinigar and leaving it to sit for 5 minutes)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp cooking oil (we were out of canola, so I used peanut)
  1. Preheat waffle iron.
  2. In one bowl, mix together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix milk, pumpkin, eggs, and oil.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into the dry and mix well.
  5. Ladle about 1/3 cup of batter onto waffle iron and cook as per manufacturer’s instructions (ours take about 5 minutes- or until the green light comes on).

I wish we had some whipped cream. But we had mini-chocolate chips and candy corn. So we made do with what we had. Tough life. :)

Coming up I’ve got a spooky lunch and some decorated cookies! We’ve been having lots of fun! Don’t forget to leave me a comment if you try anything you find here, or if you have any suggestions as to what we should include on our list (since I am kind of winging it) :)

I’m linking this post to Wonka Wednesday at Hugs and Cookies XOXO¬†and Cast Party Wednesdays at Lady Behind the Curtain

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Waffles (Day 6)

Leave a Reply

