Things To Do With A Bag Of Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows (Day 10)

Sometimes I get to play a little on my own. Like when Ellie is in school, and Ben is napping. Usually I use the time to nap clean the house. Today I sat staring at my bag of Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows wishing I could have liked them. I was so excited to bring these home and share them with Bryan. We are both generally pumpkin spice fans. I popped one into my mouth and stared at him. He popped one into his mouth and said, “well THAT cleared my sinuses.” Yeah, they are a little overpowering. Not wanting to just trash the whole bag, I brainstormed some ideas. My friend Melody from Sweet Ivy Confections made Rice Crispy Treats with hers, and I know they had to be awesome. But since she had already taken care of that, I decided to try something different. I thought simply cutting the flavor with some chocolate might help. So I melted some white chocolate flavored candy melts and dipped my marshmallows. If you really wanted to, I suppose you could use orange melts and actually make them look like pumpkins, and maybe even use a little green on the top. If you’re very good, you could even use a little green and pipe some curly vines. But melted chocolate is not my friend. I am on slightly better terms with melted chocolate than I am with fondant, but we’re still not planning a girls night out anytime soon.

I am, however, on excellent terms with hot chocolate. So I made some of that too, and I even wrote down the recipe for you!!

Pumpkin Spice Hot Chocolate With Pumpkin Spice Whipped Cream (and, yes, I am aware that it would just be so much easier to use actual pumpkin spice, but I forgot to buy more, and I want to use up the marshmallows). This makes 1 LARGE serving.

  • 1 cup milk + 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 oz dark chocolate (chips or chopped)
  • 1 oz semisweet chocolate (chips or chopped)
  • 10 pumpkin spice marshmallows
  1. Heat 1 cup of milk and chocolate in a saucepan until chocolate melts and stir until smooth.
  2. Melt marshmallows in the microwave on 50% power for about 20 seconds.
  3. Mash marshmallows with a fork then mix with the 2 tablespoons of milk and stir until smooth.
  4. Add marshmallow mix to the hot chocolate and stir.
  • 2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
  • about 5 pumpkin spice marshmallows
  1. Whisk cream until peaks form.
  2. Melt marshmallows at 50% power for about 20 seconds.
  3. Whisk marshmallows until smooth then whisk into the cream.
  4. Spoon into a piping bag and pipe on top of your hot chocolate.

So there- if you bought a bag of pumpkin spice marshmallows and weren’t crazy about them, I gave you three options. (One courtesy of Sweet Ivy Confections and two were born out of my need to avoid cleaning the house while the kids were at school and napping).

I’m linking this post to Wonka Wednesdays at Hugs and Cookies XOXO

2 thoughts on “Things To Do With A Bag Of Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows (Day 10)

Leave a Reply

