Halloween Oreos (Day 15)

One of the first blogs I started reading is still one of my favorites. Kristan at Confessions of a Cookbook Queen not only shares fun and easy recipes, but each post is entertaining (as in -she will have you rolling on the floor laughing every time). She’s also very sweet to her fans, I know she tries her hardest to answer every comment and email from her readers, with honest answers and advice. And she is not paying me to say any of this. As far as I know, she doesn’t even know who I am. But I do have a point here. The first time I ever tried to make a recipe from someone’s blog, it was one of hers. The Shamrock Mint Oreos. But I didn’t make them minty or shamrocky, I made them into flowers and tinted the cream in pastel colors to celebrate the first day of spring. (And when I shared the picture on her facebook page, she complimented them. See, I told you she is sweet.) And way back then, I had the idea to do them for halloween.

So, you can follow the recipe on Kristan’s blog. I just omitted the mint and tinted the filling green, orange, and purple. The easiest way to do this, I found, was to scoop the filling into plastic baggies, and add the color- kneading until the color blended through.

I baked the cookies (I used leftover chocolate dough I had already made- but I know the recipe on Kristan’s page is delicious) and let them cool. I took a scoop of filling and flattened it between two paper towels and cut out the shapes with the same mini cookie cutters I used for the cookies. Then I sandwiched the creme between two cookies. That’s it! Simple as can be :)

Enjoy, and if you aren’t familiar with Confessions of a Cookbook Queen, make sure you stop by and visit her!!! AND she is collaborating with Shelly from Cookies and Cups on a fun new site, That’s What We Said, that is so great, I can’t even describe it. You just have to check it out.

9 thoughts on “Halloween Oreos (Day 15)

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Raspberry Sandwich Cookies « Ellie's Bites Decorated Cookies

Leave a Reply

