Butterfinger Candy Corn (Day 19)

Yes, you can make your own Butterfinger Candy at home. When you find out how easy it actually is, you will probably shut down your computer and make them right now. Because I can almost guarantee you have all of the ingredients in your house right now.

I saw this recipe on my friend Danielle’s blog, Hugs and Cookies XOXO. She bakes almost every day (and by almost, I mean- every day) and shares recipes and photos on her blog. She also encourages her readers to stop trying to eat their computer screens and actually MAKE the recipes, by hosting “bake-alongs” and encouraging you to share photos of your version of her recipes. So I’ll stop here and give you a chance to go check out the recipe. Only, when you get to the part where you cut them into bars and dip them in chocolate… stop. And come back here. I have a little something different planned. In case you haven’t noticed, I have a bit of a candy corn theme going on this week. So go check out the recipe, and in the meantime- here is a picture of the baby and I spending a little quality time, making a Halloween craft together:

Okay- did you stop at the part where the filling has chilled? Now cut the filling into strips, and cut the strips horizontally, on the diagonal, until you have a bunch of little triangles (I pressed my filling in the pan so it was very thin. Next time, I may make it a little thicker because it broke easily while I was slicing it).

Coat each triangle in melted white candy melts. You may remember that melted chocolate and I don’t get along. But I found the easiest way to do this was to lower each triangle into the chocolate, and take it out by scooping it up with a fork, then tap the wrist of your hand that is holding the fork to try to “vibrate”the excess chocolate off. It will run off between the tines of the fork. Then use a toothpick to gently push the triangle off of the fork and onto wax paper.

Let these chill in the refrigerator for several minutes, until coating is hard. Then dip each triangle, wide side down, into melted orange candy melts, about 2/3 up.

Let them chill again, until the orange part has hardened, then dip the wide end again, only this time cover the bottom third, in melted yellow candy melts.

Let them chill again. Then you’ll see how we made candy corn disappear, then reappear as… candy corn!

By the way, I would love to know if anyone has ever tried this recipe using sun nut butter or soy butter. Let me know. Thanks!

One thought on “Butterfinger Candy Corn (Day 19)

Leave a Reply

