Halloween Candy Corn Chex Mix (Day 22)

And finally, we come to the end of my self-proclaimed candy corn week. I will never again declare an entire week devoted to a theme when I am going into it with only four solid ideas. I had so many fails trying to figure out what to do the other three days. Candy corn cupcakes in a jar= big brown mess in a jar. The cake still tasted okay, so I mashed in some frosting and formed it into candy corn cake pops. Then I realized I used the last of my yellow candy melts to make the candy corn butterfingers. And the baby was napping, so I couldn’t go out to buy more. So I raided the kids crayon drawer for broken yellow, orange, and white crayons, built this crazy triangular contraption out of aluminum foil, and tried to melt the crayons into one big candy corn crayon. It worked… but there was just no “wow”.

Ellie found a recipe for Halloween trail mix but we couldn’t remember which magazine it was in. Then two pages shared Halloween crackers and they looked so cute and easy. (Check out The Partiologist and Coupon Loving Chicks.)

And I filled them with candy corn, pumpkin pie Chex mix.

I slightly adapted the recipe from the Chex website. (And I halved the recipe, so if you want to make it for a party, you’ll need to double it or triple it…)

  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 Tsp vanilla
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 3 cups cinnamon Chex (brand or similar) cereal
  • 1/2 cup candy corn
  1. Mix together brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice in a small bowl
  2. In another small bowl, melt butter in the microwave and add vanilla
  3. In a medium microwave safe bowl, add the cereal, and pour the butter/vanilla mixture over the cereal, mixing well. Pour the sugar/ spice mixture over the top and mix again.
  4. Microwave this mixture for 3-4 minutes stopping to stir frequently, don’t let it burn.
  5. Add the candy corn and stir again.
  6. Spread mixture on a wax paper covered baking sheet and allow to cool.
  7. Store in an airtight bag. The Chex site says it will store for three weeks. LOL. Three days probably won’t even happen.
4 thoughts on “Halloween Candy Corn Chex Mix (Day 22)

  1. Last year I was introduced to an awesome candy corn recipe through a co-worker of my dad. Simply mix canned peanuts with candy corn. Tastes just like a Payday bar. Comes in handy in a pinch too.

Leave a Reply

