Pumpkin Pie (Day 23)

I suppose pumpkin pie tends to be more of a Thanksgiving thing than a Halloween thing, but I included it for a few reasons. First, Halloween is partly about facing fears… witches, monsters, letting your children take candy from strangers. And, in addition to spiders and recipes that include “letting dough rise”, one of my fears was making pie in a crust. I don’t know why. Everyone told me it was easy. But I was still nervous. The second reason, is these cookies:

I only noticed recently that the box says “Philadelphia’s Original”. Does that mean they are regional? Do you all have them? I really hope so, because we already have the best pretzels and cheesesteaks, it would be a shame if we monopolize the best ginger snap, too. Anyway, these are the single thing that say “Fall” to me. When I see these cookies in the store (and there is always a huge display right in front) I immediately shift into Halloween mode. Of course I had to make a pumpkin pie, if only to make a crust out of these cookies. So I made one. And I cut a slice, topped it with homemade whipped cream, a dash of cinnamon, and half a gingersnap. Then I took a picture.

For the pie itself, I used the recipe from the Libby’s can. This is how I made the crust. Ready? It’s complicated:

  1. Crush the gingersnaps in the food processor until you have 1 1/2c of crumbs.
  2. Melt one stick of butter in the microwave.
  3. Pour butter over crumbs and mash with a fork until combined.
  4. Spread mixture along the bottom of a 9 in pie plate.
  5. Pour in pumpkin pie filling and bake as directed.

Maybe it wasn’t so complicated. I really don’t know what I was afraid of.

I guess my crust was a little thick, though, because I had some pumpkin pie filling that wouldn’t fit in the pan. I baked that filling, crustless, in a 5 inch cake pan. And I made some quick and EASY treats!

Sandwiched between two gingersnaps.

Swirled on top of a gingersnap and sprinkled with mini chocolate chips.

Easy dessert (um- or appetizer?). Especially if you are afraid of making pie crust. Like I was.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie (Day 23)

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes (October Style) (Day 25) « elliesbitesdecoratedcookies

Leave a Reply

