Halloween!!!! (And My Kids Are Going To Hate Me For This One Day) (Day 31)

Since I was in total DIY mode this month, it should come as no surprise that I decided to make my kids’ costumes this year. Ben was simple. The Very Hungry Caterpillar. It was the theme of his first birthday party, and it is still the book that makes his eyes light up when we read it at bedtime.

Yes- he HATES the hat. I wasn’t going to piss him off even more by trying to wipe his nose for the picture. Sorry.

Ellie was a little more difficult to please. About two months ago, we read Charlotte’s Web together. That was when she decided she was going to be Fern (the little girl who raised Wilbur the pig). I could not budge her. We read Pippi Longstocking just so I could try to convince her to dress as Pippi (an easily recognizable character) and, even though we spent a month reading all three original books, she still wanted to be Fern. So what could I do other than sew a plastic spider to her stuffed pig and dress her in jeans, a tee shirt, and pig tails? So that is what she wore to her Girl Scout’s Halloween dance. There, she was disillusioned by her costume when she didn’t win a prize. She then decided she wanted to be Ella Enchanted. Well, not only was I over my budget for extras this month, but there was no way I was spending the weekend before Halloween searching costume stores for something that might work. Then I remembered I had a sheet that had ripped, which had accidently found its way back into the linen closet instead of the garbage.

A skirt, a cape, and a tiara later and we have an Ella Enchanted. (Yes, it needs to be ironed, no, I’m not promising I am going to do it.)

So, on a completely unrelated note, I burned dinner the other night. So we had pancakes instead. Pumpkin/chocolate pancakes. And I have a recipe for you. (Happy Halloween!) (Adapted from Better Homes And Gardens Kid Favorites Made Healthy)

Pumpkin:

  • 1 c flour
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2-1 tsp pumkin pie spice (per your taste, I wound up adding more so I could taste the spice over the chocolate)
  • 3/4 c milk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp cooking oil
  1. In one medium bowl, mix together dry ingredients (flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and spice)
  2. In another small bowl, mix together wet ingredients (milk, pumpkin, egg, and oil)
  3. Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix until combined. Set aside.

Chocolate

  • 3/4 c flour
  • 1/4c cocoa powder (I use unsweetened, you could use sweetened, but then I would adjust the amount of sugar)
  • 1/4c sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c buttermilk (or 3/4 tsp vinegar + enough milk to fill to 3/4 c. mix together and set aside for 5 minutes to allow milk to “sour”)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp cooking oil
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together dry ingredients (flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, salt)
  2. In a small bowl, mix buttermilk, egg, and oil.
  3. Add liquid ingredients to dry and mix until combined.
  4. Heat griddle or pan and spray with cooking spray. When water flicked on the surface bounces around, scoop a tablespoon of pumpkin batter onto the pan and immediately add a tablespoon of chocolate batter on top.
  5. When bubbles start to rise to the top of the pancake, flip over and cook for another 2 minutes.
  6. Remove from heat, cool slightly and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

