Candy Cane Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had a really hard time getting around to posting these cookies. I think I was picturing these as Christmas cookies, or at least wintery cookies. Being that Thanksgiving is still a week away, and it is still fall, I kept putting it off. The more I thought about it, though, I realized that cookies that I make with my daughter are perfect for Thanksgiving, no matter what other season they are screaming for. How long is she going to want to play in the kitchen with me? She wants to right now, almost every day, and THAT is something to be thankful for.

I’m also going to share my favorite chocolate chocolate chip cookie recipe with you (it is adapted from The New Basics Cookbook) but you can use any chocolate chocolate chip recipe that you want. The most important ingredient (besides “love” as Ellie says) is these:

Candy cane kisses (I got mine at Target). Put your kids to work unwrapping these. One for each cookie you plan to make.

Drop your dough by the tablespoon onto a baking sheet lined with parchment and bake for the specified time. When they come out of the oven, before they have a chance to cool, working fast, place one kiss in the middle of each cookie.

Now, these are impressive enough, but what happened next was entirely unexpected and very cool.

Leave cookies aside for about 10 minutes. As they sit, the Kiss will begin to melt. As it softens, you should be able to gently press the tip flat with your finger. Allow to sit for a few more minutes and when the chocolate is completely melted, take a tooth pick and swirl gently. You will wind up with this.

So cute. If you swirl it just right, they look like hard peppermint candy- only without the choking hazard, so you don’t have to worry about your kids eating them!

When Ellie and I work together in the kitchen, I like to measure all of the ingredients into small bowls and let her add them to the mixer. Now that she is in kindergarten, her responsibilities have expanded a bit. This time, I let her measure the ingredients (all but the flour- I’m not that enthusiastic about cleaning flour from every surface of the kitchen). Her favorite job is cracking the egg.

No shells! Unlike her mommy, who can’t crack an egg without a little shell getting away….

  • 1 stick butter (unsalted, or salted and just omit the salt that the recipe calls for)
  • 6 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 6 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark this time, but I am not loyal to any specific cocoa)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  1. Preheat oven to 375F
  2. Mix butter and both sugars at medium speed until fluffy.
  3. Add egg and beat until blended, then vanilla and beat until blended
  4. In a small bowl mix flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt, then add to butter/sugar mixture a little bit at a time until it is all blended in.
  5. If you want to add any chips, add them now (up to 1 cup). For these, I used about 1/2 cup Ghirirdelli’s white chocolate chips.
  6. Drop by tablespoon onto parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 9 minutes.
  7. Let cool or add a topping.

Last year, I used candy corn for Halloween, and heart shaped sprinkles for Valentines day.

Have a great weekend everyone? Are you baking anything special for Thanksgiving? I’d also love to know if you have any traditions you love. Now that Ellie is older, and Ben does whatever Ellie does, I’d love to hear how you teach your kids about being Thankful :)

 

Leave a Reply

