Black Eyed Peas Birthday Cookies For My Dad

What do you do when you have no Kopykake and no printer designated for edible paper and food grade ink, but you DO have a father with a strange obsession with The Black Eyed Peas? A father who walks around singing “You are so <insert your birth year>” followed by some ridiculous statement that rhymes with your birth year? You improvise.

First, I found an album cover online and printed it out. Then I cut out the lettering with tiny scissors and temporarily attached the paper to the cookie with a dab of royal icing.

Then I sprayed over the paper onto the cookie with Wilton’s color mist in green.

Last, I was able to go back and outline the letters with a black food coloring marker. It was so much easier than freehanding the letters. I could see using this method for many things (until I get a Kopycake, anyway…).

So, they are a little cheesy, but they had to be done. And I had to share, because I thought they turned out cute!

 

These little cookies went on top of the cupcakes we had to celebrate my Dad’s birthday.

So, um… is your dad as embarrassing as mine can be sometimes?

3 thoughts on “Black Eyed Peas Birthday Cookies For My Dad

  1. That is so funny about your dad! Great idea… using the paper cut out to block out an area before spraying. I don’t have a projector or printer either so I’m always looking for ways to get images onto the cookies. I just recently did my first icing transfer.

Leave a Reply

