Character Cookies Without A KopyKake

I’m not entirely sure I am allowed to share this. I’ll start off by being responsible and saying that most character images are not supposed to be copied for profit, so anything you make using this tutorial should be for your own use only, ok? OK.

That said, I think I may have mentioned in the past that when my husband gave me the choice between the kopykake and the camera for my birthday, I chose the camera. I have NEVER regretted that decision, I LOVE my camera, but it has forced me to get resourceful when it comes to trying to copy a detailed image accurately.  (Warning… a lot of pictures are coming up…)

I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea to attempt to make a Dora cookie that included Boots, Backpack, AND Map. After a couple of truly mortifying sketches, I had a brainstorm. Templates.

First find your image and make at least two copies. Cut out the first copy entirely, then butcher the second- cutting out every detailed area that you can.

Trace your  main image. For the purpose of this tutorial, I used pen on paper. On a cookie, you’ll want to use an edible food coloring marker.

One by one, fit your detailed areas into the main outline. Think fitting puzzle pieces together.

I can’t find the template for Boot’s face, but I did use one.

Once your outline is complete, you can go back and compare to your original picture to get the details.

After you have your entire food coloring marker outline, you can go back and outline and fill with your icing.

I definitely need practice with outlining and filling in the small detailed areas, but using these templates sure cut out a lot of time and guesswork!

6 thoughts on “Character Cookies Without A KopyKake

  1. Pingback: Inspiration Challenge: July {Home Decor}

  2. Pingback: Frozen Cookies | Ellie's Bites Decorated Cookies

Leave a Reply

