Apples, Apples, Apples, and More Apples

Before we get to the more pumpkiny aspects of fall, we needed to do something apple related. Last year, we dipped apples into caramel and decorated them with toppings.  It was a lot of fun, and I’m sure we’ll do it again this year, but this week, we used our apples to celebrate Rosh Hashana (The Jewish New Year- the start of the Jewish calendar).

We were all excited this past Sunday, when Bryan received a phone call early in the morning putting him on call at work for the day. This meant he had to be ready to go into work on an hour’s notice and we couldn’t go far, but we could do something together as a family- a rare treat on Sundays as he works every weekend. It was a bee-you-ti-ful early fall day so, of course, we decided to take the kids apple picking. There is a farm near us that has a huge play area for the kids and we spent some time there after the hayride out to the apple orchards.

 

We had so many apples that we I decided to declare it “Apple Day”. When we got home from the farm, after we ate lunch, I gave each child a half of an apple on a fork, some red, green, and yellow acrylic paints, and let them stamp the inside of a grocery bag. We let the paint dry over night and the next day, Ellie and I searched for the stamps that most closely resembled apples. I cut those out, and she and I used marker to outline the shapes, and add leaves and stems. The kids then decorated the apple prints with faces, or scribbles (in Ben’s case) and we gave them to the grandparents as New Year’s Cards,

After nap time, we used some more of the apples to make this amazing apple cake (recipe from Smitten Kitchen). 

Both kids helped which meant the world to me. I would love to make baking this cake a Rosh Hashana tradition, because I would get to watch as the kids take on more and more responsibility eventually making it on their own. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the process, but I needed both hands free in case the two-year-old decided to play sand box with the sugar.

I made no changes to the recipe (which you can find here). I baked it in two loaf pans, as opposed to a tube pan. I checked at 1.5 hours, and thought it could go a little longer so I added another five minutes and the edges burned a bit. Next time, I would either leave off the extra five minutes, or line the pans with parchment instead of cooking spray.

Later, I made some apple cookies (not with apples, but I did add a few shakes of cinnamon to the dough). Since I have done red apple cookies before, I drew inspiration for these cookies from one of our current favorite books: Chicka Chicka 123 (similar toChicka Chicka Boom Boom, but with numbers and apple trees instead of letters and coconut trees).

 

So, what have you done with your apples this year?

One thought on “Apples, Apples, Apples, and More Apples

Leave a Reply

