Chocolate Peppermint Krispie Treats

If you are wondering what happened to December’s Winter Wonderland challenge, don’t worry. It will happen, just a little late this month. Life tends to get busy this time of year. The good news is that you have a little longer to work on your cookies so you can link them up when the time comes!

Since the majority of what I bake and the cookies I make are for fun, not for sale, I decided I needed to work on my photography skills. After all, when your work is seen on the internet, but not always eaten by others, the appearance is just as important as, if not more important than, the actual taste! If you follow me on facebook, you may know that these krispie treats were actually a baking (or no-bake) fail. Well, not really an entire fail, Ellie and I made them together while Ben napped so we have that five minutes together. Rice Krispie treats don’t take that long to make.

Peppermint Cocoa Rice Crispy Treats (Ellie's Bites)

I didn’t think they looked that bad, at the time I didn’t know that I had royally screwed them up, either. So I went ahead and took some pictures.

Then I tried to slice them for an “interior shot” and I could barely get the knife through. In fact the whole thing slid off the plate and shattered, literally shattered, on the floor.

So I sought out help from my friends on facebook, wondering why I have such a problem making what is technically the world’s easiest dessert. I got great advice and made a new (smaller) batch for the kids, because I couldn’t serve them the first round. I didn’t want them to cut up their mouths or break a tooth.

Peppermint Cocoa Rice Crispy Treats Take 2 (Ellie's Bites)

They turned out much better, so thank you so much!

Since I am the last one who should be telling you how to make Rice Krispie Treats, I’ll just run through this quickly. (The measurements in parentheses are the amounts I used in the second batch which was just enough to make 4 perfectly child sized treats.)

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons butter (3/4 tbsp)
  • 2 cups mini peppermint marshmallows (1 cup)
  • 3 cups Cocoa Krispies (1 1/2 cups)
  • chocolate chips and crushed candy canes for embellishment
  1. Lightly spray and line a small casserole or 8×8 baking dish with parchment
  2. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan
  3. Add the marshmallows and stir constantly until  JUST BARELY COMPLETELY ( :) ) melted
  4. Remove from heat and add krispies. Mix well
  5. Lightly press krispie mixture into prepared pan and let cool
  6. Drizzle with melted chocolate chips and garnish with crushed candy canes (like in the first picture) or sprinkle chocolate chips, crushed candy canes, and some extra marshmallows on top (like in the second picture)

So, if you have any photography tips or resources that you recommend, please let me know. I really want to learn more about that.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

