Very Large Chanukah Cookies

Happy third night of Chanukah! As you can imagine, with the first and second nights being on a weekend, things got a little crazy around here. I hosted a small group at my house- just my parents and grandfather. My brother, sister-in-law, and their three munchkins moved halfway across the country this past summer (shortly after munchkin #3 was born) so we’ll have another party later this month when they come home.

You’d think it would be easier to cook for a small group, but I’ve found that I tend to get more ambitious than I think I would if I had to make mass quantities. I went with a very traditional menu and I insisted on making everything from scratch. Fortunately, I found all of my recipes on The Smitten Kitchen, so I can link to them and you can make them yourself. Absolutely worth it. (Brisket and Potato Latkes).

I didn’t have much time to make anything fancy, dessert-wise. While I was making some of my other Chanukah cookies, I made these, and I just put these out on top of a platter of other assorted desserts.

Large Chanukah Cookies (Ellie's Bites)

Although they are quite large, these cookies are actually very easy to make.

Large Dreidel Cookie (Ellie's Bites) To make this cookie, all you need is icing, one color for piping, and one for flood. Or you can even use the same color. The writing will stand out and be beautiful. Outline and flood your cookie. Wait for it it dry completely (several hours or overnight). Then pipe on your writing. I chose the first line of the dreidel sone, the letters on the dreidel- nun, gimmel, hay, shin (reading right to left) which stand for “Nes Gadol Haya Sham”, meaning “A great miracle happened there”.  Then I overdid it with some decorations. Which I would not have done if I could go back in time and stop myself. When everything was dry, I gave it a quick spray with Wilton’s Pearl Mist. (My current obsessions- silver and pearl mist- you’ll see them a few more times this week.)

Large Menorah Cookie (Ellie's Bites)This cookie was made the same way, but since the Menorah outline may be a little obscure without the details, I added them using white and yellow flood icing, while the blue was still wet. Once the whole thing was dry, I piped on the first line of the Chanukah song and added some detail to the menorah. Then I sprayed the whole thing with pearl mist.

Enjoy your third night! We’ll be celebrating with some friends tonight :)

2 thoughts on “Very Large Chanukah Cookies

Leave a Reply

