Marshmallow Filled Chocolate Covered Chanukah Cookies

I’m pretty sure that the title of this post says it all, so I’ll just get on with the picture.

Marshmallow Creme Filled Chanukah Cookies (Ellie's Bites)

I said in a previous post that most of these ideas can be translated into any holiday theme or, like these, just made for anytime. For instance, I just used two chocolate cookies, cut into Chanukah shapes (see Lila Loa’s page for the go-to chocolate cookie recipe I love).I ┬átinted a little marshmallow fluff with some blue food coloring and I added about 1/4c powdered sugar to one cup of fluff to theoretically make it easier to mix in the food coloring. I’m not sure it made a difference. Then I took a bit of the blue fluff and spread it between two cookies. I chilled them in the freezer for about 20 minutes to keep the fluff from oozing out the sides, then I coated them in melted milk chocolate. Then I left them overnight in the fridge to set the chocolate(overnight because I made them around 11pm) and when I woke up, I had (a half of) one for breakfast and it was good.

Obviously, you could use any cookie recipe, any color fluff, and any percentage chocolate. But since we are having these for our last night of Chanukah dessert, I made Stars of David and Dreidels.

I hope you enjoyed these Chanukah cookie posts! Now it’s on to Christmas cookies :)

Chanukah Cookies

Yesterday, I sat down at the computer to write this post and I couldn’t do it. Ellie was still at school and all I could think about was having her home. Ben was in his room, not napping, and I just wanted to go upstairs and hold him until he fell asleep. So that’s what I did. I’m sorry, but I knew you would understand if my post about cookies was a day late. Thank you.

When I was trying to come up with a plan, I had a solid six ideas. I had another floating around in my mind, but for the eighth, I was drawing a complete blank. Ellie actually said to me, “What about the miracle of Chanukah?”. That’s when I had the idea to handcut cookies in the shapes of the letters on the dreidel- the letters which are an acronym for the hebrew phrase meaning “A Great Miracle Happened There”.

A Great Miracle Happened Here (Ellie's Bites)

At first, my idea was to make a platter of smaller cookies, but I knew I wouldn’t have time to make them for the party we had last weekend, so I decided to just make larger cookies, and one of each letter.

Don’t underestimate the freedom of handcutting. If you make hundreds of cookies of the same style, it would make sense to order a custom cookie cutter, or make one yourself. But for one or two accent cookies? Just go for it.

One more Chanukah cookie to go!