Chanukah Cookies

Yesterday, I sat down at the computer to write this post and I couldn’t do it. Ellie was still at school and all I could think about was having her home. Ben was in his room, not napping, and I just wanted to go upstairs and hold him until he fell asleep. So that’s what I did. I’m sorry, but I knew you would understand if my post about cookies was a day late. Thank you.

When I was trying to come up with a plan, I had a solid six ideas. I had another floating around in my mind, but for the eighth, I was drawing a complete blank. Ellie actually said to me, “What about the miracle of Chanukah?”. That’s when I had the idea to handcut cookies in the shapes of the letters on the dreidel- the letters which are an acronym for the hebrew phrase meaning “A Great Miracle Happened There”.

A Great Miracle Happened Here (Ellie's Bites)

At first, my idea was to make a platter of smaller cookies, but I knew I wouldn’t have time to make them for the party we had last weekend, so I decided to just make larger cookies, and one of each letter.

Don’t underestimate the freedom of handcutting. If you make hundreds of cookies of the same style, it would make sense to order a custom cookie cutter, or make one yourself. But for one or two accent cookies? Just go for it.

One more Chanukah cookie to go!

One thought on “Chanukah Cookies

Leave a Reply

