Winter Cookies And An Easy Packaging Idea

I made these cookies for Bryan’s managers at work. I won’t go into the fact that I made four sets, then he told me he has five managers. We’re not talking about that.

Hot Cocoa and Mittens Cookies (Ellie's Bites)

This morning, I ran out to Target to get little platters and basket bags to wrap them up, but you can imagine that on December 23rd, the pickins were slim. I found these really cute boxes in the Christmas gift wrap section, and, although they were a little pricy at 4$ each, they were actually exactly what I was looking for.

Christmas Cookie Packaging Collage (Ellie's Bites)

  1. Cut a cake board to fit inside the box.
  2. Cover the cake board with a doily and lay out the cookies the way you want them.
  3. Cover the whole thing in plastic wrap and pull tight enough to hold everything in place, but not so tight that cookies break.
  4. Fold a piece of tissue paper to fit inside the box.
  5. Lay the wrapped board with cookies inside the box and cover with the tissue paper, like you would a shirt.
  6. Place the lid on top.

I thought about just laying the cookies inside the box on some crinkle paper, but last year, some of his managers didn’t work on Christmas, and their cookies wound up sitting for a few days. I wanted these to stay fresh for a while.

Originally, I made those mitten cookies for Ellie’s class party this past week, and I made a little tutorial to show you how easy they actually are.

You need: mitten cookies, ribbon, thicker flood consistency icing in one color, piping icing and thicker flood icing in a second color.

Mitten Collage 1

  1. Bake your mitten cookies, making sure to flip one over so you have one for each hand. Before baking, cut a little hole with a straw.
  2. Loop a ribbon through the holes and tie a knot.
  3. Outline the hand of the mittens.
  4. Flood in your main color.

Mitten Collage 2

  1. Quickly, working one or two cookies at a time, pipe horizontal stripes with your second color flood icing.
  2. Drag a toothpick along the top of the icing, going through all of the horizontal stripes.
  3. Wipe the accumulated icing off of the tip of the toothpick with a paper towel and drag along the icing in the other direction.
  4. Continue through the entire width of the mitten hand alternating direction.

Last, use your piping icing to pipe a ribbed cuff along the edge of the mitten- being careful around the ribbon. When that dries, tie your ribbon into a bow.

Mitten Cookies (Ellie's Bites)

This was the last set of Christmas cookies I made this year, but I still have one more to share tomorrow. Enjoy your Sunday, I hope you don’t have any shopping to do today!