Love Cookies

Oh, hand cutting. Most people hate it. I actually find that it gives me freedom to make a shape that I want rather than trying to find or make a cutter that would work, especially if it’s something I’m only going to use once. Don’t get me wrong, my cookie cutter collection takes up a wall of my dining room. But my most important cookie tool is a sharp knife.

To make these cookies, I printed out the word “LOVE” in my favorite font- Cast Iron. I cut out the letters and traced around them with a knife. Then I decorated them.

Love in Cast Iron Font (Ellie's Bites)

Cutting out your own cookies gives you the freedom to choose your size and make any design adjustments easily.

While I’m on the subject of cookie cutters, though. A few weeks ago, I was feeling down. My husband took my daughter out for a bit and while they were out they stopped to pick up a little gift to cheer me up. My husband remembered that I had wanted a candy thermometer (making my own marshmallows has been on my to-do list for the past few years- lack of candy thermometer has been my excuse). While they were at Sur La Table, Ellie picked up a cookie cutter she insisted I “NEEDED”. So I made her a special love cookie using her cutter.

Love and Seashell (Ellie's Bites)What she didn’t know is that I DID have that cutter already, but I had warped it a few years ago to make Big Bird for the first set of cookies I ever blogged about.  Just do me a favor and DO NOT visit that link. I’ll curl up from embarrassment!

Speaking of marshmallows, I have to mention that Ben calls them “mee-mows”. That’s all.

I’m linking up to my friend Melissa’s new series at Simply Sweets by Honeybee.

 Simply Sweets by Honeybee

13 thoughts on “Love Cookies

  1. You are so much more patient than me Stephanie. I hate hand-cutting cookies with a passion. Makes me crazy. Seriously. Your love cookies are so beautiful and what a sweet family that you have to be so thoughtful as to bring you home a pick-me-up. Very kind and sweet and thoughtful. I had to peek at your Sesame Street cookies too. You have NOTHING to be embarrassed by. They are awesome! Love all the details and I’m sure the kids completely enjoyed them!

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Challenge {Love} | Ellie's Bites Decorated Cookies

Leave a Reply

