Firetrucks and Dalmatians

This has to be one of my favorite sets of cookies ever!

Dalmatian And Firetrucks (Ellie's Bites)There is not a single thing about these cookies that I didn’t love. Does that sound like I am patting my own back? Sorry. I just couldn’t stop looking at them. I think if I couldn’t take a picture to make them last longer, I may not have given them up. Is that strange?

Anyway, I took some photos along the way, so I can show you how easy it really is to make that Dalmatian.

First, find an image you like and print it out. (I used the first image that came up when I googled “Dalmatian”.)

Roll out your dough and lay the image on top, hand cutting around it with a sharp knife. Don’t worry about cutting out the small, breakable details like the legs, just cut the general shape.

dalmatian collage (Ellie's Bites)

After they have baked and cooled, lay your image on top of the cookie and trace lightly with a light colored food safe food coloring marker. Go around your outline with piping consistency icing. Try to pipe slightly on the outside of the marker so the marker doesn’t show. Fill in your outline. Don’t worry about details, just fill in the solid outline. At this point let it dry completely. Overnight is best. When it has dried completely, use a black food coloring marker and your original picture (as inspiration) to add spots, a nose, and eyes.

Dalmatian (Ellie's Bites)When the marker no longer looks wet, use your piping consistency icing to outline the dog shape, adding details like the legs and ears. You can also use a little white icing to give your doggie a glint in it’s eyes. Also optional is a little pink food coloring marker tongue.

See? Pretty easy right?

And this method can work with any short haired dog. I made these chocolate labs the same way.

Chocolate Lab (Ellie's Bites)I’m going to link up to my friend Melissa’s Saturday Linky party. You can link something up, too! Who doesn’t like to show off what they’ve made?

 Simply Sweets by Honeybee