Hanukkah Oreos

I know that Thanksgivikkah was a once in a lifetime (several lifetimes, actually) phenomenon, but it’s been really weird this year. I started shopping for my kid’s eight gifts in early October. I was more concerned with wrapping Hanukkah gifts than making Thanksgiving treats. Neither holiday got the attention it deserved.

I made two sets of Thanksgiving cookies:

Thanksgiving Turkeys 2013 (Ellie's Bites)and this one for my dad:

Alice's Restaurant Cookies (Ellie's Bites)

I made one set of Thanksgivikkah cookies to bring to our Thanksgiving dinner/ Hanukkah celebration:

Thanksgivikkah Cookies (Ellie's Bites)But I didn’t make anything specifically for Hanukkah.

I remedied that situation this morning.

I raided the kids’ Halloween candy and found a pack of Oreos and some MnMs. In the pantry, I found some chocolate chips, white sixlets, ¬†and some Hanukkah cookies left over from the platter above that I never decorated . When the kids weren’t looking, I took their gelt.

Hanukkah Oreos (Ellie's Bites)

 

First, unwrap the gelt. Do this in a different room than the one your kids are in, because they’ll hear the crinkle of the foil, and they’ll smell the chocolate. Then it’s all over.

Dip the Oreos in melted chocolate and place a chocolate coin on top. Easy. Let the chocolate set up. If you need to, put them in the fridge or freezer to speed up the setting up process.

Hannukah Oreos (Ellie's Bites)If you have some cutout cookies available, dip the tops in the chocolate too. (Or use graham crackers or any plain cookie.)

Sprinkle with crushed blue MnMs and crushed sixlets. Place a piece of gelt on top and drizzle with more melted chocolate. Allow this to set in the same way as the Oreos.

Hanukkah Cookie Bark (Ellie's Bites)Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hanukkah Oreos

  1. Pingback: WOW! My first blog award here – MOST UPLIFTING BLOGGER AWARD – THANKS! | Cooking Adventures With Kids

Leave a Reply

