Mom Mom Mary’s Mandel Bread

Mandel Bread 1(Ellie's Bites)

I was hesitant for so long to share this recipe. I never felt like it was MY recipe to share. It’s was my great grandmother’s recipe and then it was my grandmother’s.

Mandel Bread- Cutting (Ellie's Bites)

Over the past year or two, though, I’ve become the baker in the family. It’s a given that I will be the one to bring desserts to family dinners and “providing cookies at work during major holidays” is now one of my actual job responsibilities. Then a few months ago, I signed up for The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap. One of the qualifications to participate was, believe it or not, being an actual food blogger. I’ve been writing through Ellie’s Bites for almost three years and I never felt like an official food blogger until I was approved to participate in this cookie swap. Well, this occasion called for a special cookie!

Mandel Bread Sprinkle with Cinnamon

I asked my mom if she minded that I share the recipe with the world (also known as my readers!) and she gave me a funny look like “why do you think you even need to ask?” and said “of course I don’t mind.” So, here it is!

Mandel Bread (Ellie's Bites)

Mom Mom Mary’s Mandel Bread (Almond Bread)

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 2 cups flour (sifted)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds (I actually just give a handful of almonds a quick pulse in the food processor)
  • cinnamon and sugar for dusting
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray three loaf pans with cooking spray.
  2. Mix together the oil and sugar in a large bowl.
  3. Add eggs and mix.
  4. Add extracts and mix.
  5. Combine the flour, salt, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the wet. It will be very thick and sticky.
  6. Stir in the almonds.
  7. Divide batter between the three pans (roughly 1 1/4 cups per pan) and gently shake the pan until the dough spreads along the bottom of the pan.
  8. Bake for about 45 minutes (watch for the last 5-10- it only took mine 40 minutes)
  9. Remove from oven and let cool for 5-10 minutes, turn out of the pan and allow to cool for 10 more minutes.
  10. Slice each cake into 1/2 inch slices and lay on their sides on a cookie sheet lined with parchment. Sprinkle with the cinnamon and sugar and bake for 5-10 more minutes. Watch carefully and remove when tops start to brown.
  11. Let cool.

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2013Thank you to Lindsay from Love and Olive Oil and Julie from The Little Kitchenย for organizing The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap and raising over 13,000$ for Cookies For Kids Cancer!

 

One thought on “Mom Mom Mary’s Mandel Bread

Leave a Reply

