Staching Through The Snow (Santa Face From Fancy Square)

I saw this tee shirt in Target all the way back in November and I could not wait for an excuse to cookie it!

IMG_6562

I wanted to come up with a Santa face cookie to go along with it, but I wanted a cookie that focused on his facial hair. I thought, and thought, and turned all sorts of cutters in every direction until I saw it. Then, of course, I couldn’t unsee it.

The Fancy Square.

Santa Face From Fancy Square (Ellie's Bites)

This cookie has single handedly replaced any cookie I may have thought was my favorite as my new favorite.

To make it, you’ll need:

  • Red icing in a very thin, spreadable consistency
  • Flesh colored icing in a one step (20 second) consistency
  • White icing in piping and flood consistencies
  • Red airbrush color (or Wilton’s Color Mist in red)

Santa From Fancy Square- Collage (Ellie's Bites)

  • Cut your dough with the fancy square and turn it on its side so it looks like a quatrefoil square. Bake your cookies and let them cool.
  • Using the very thin red icing and a spatula, paint a portion of the cookie (toward the top third of the cookie) with a light layer of red.Wait for this to dry completely.
  • Using the flesh colored icing, pipe and immediately fill an oval shape. Use a toothpick to pop any air bubbles to prevent cratering.
  • Using white piping icing and a PME 1.5, Ateco 1, or Wilton 2 tip, outline the rest of the cookie, and outline a mouth shape (dipping down in the middle of the top line to outline the bottom of the mustache).
  • Begin flooding with white flood icing. Flood the bottom section first and allow it to dry to create dimension between the beard and the mustache.
  • Flood the mustache and allow the whole cookie to dry completely.

Santa From Fancy Square- Airbrush (Ellie's Bites)

Fill an airbrush with red airbrush color (or use Wilton’s Color Mist in Red). Lightly spray a red highlight along the top of the “nose”.

Staching Through The Snow with Santa face (Ellie's Bites)

Use the white piping icing again to add details to the beard and mustache.

Staching Through The Snow (Ellie's Bites)

When I showed this cookie to my friend Melissa at Simply Sweets by Honeybee, I was able to talk her into making a Santa Stache cookie too! So now head over to her blog to see what she came up with. I always love her cookies and this one does not disappoint!

Have you made a Santa Stache? Go ahead and show it off! Post it to my Facebook page. I can’t wait to see!

7 thoughts on “Staching Through The Snow (Santa Face From Fancy Square)

  1. Pingback: Santa Mustache & Beard Cookies: "Staching Through the Snow" - simplysweetsbyhoneybee.com

Leave a Reply

