A Botched Batch

Things have been CRAZY around here lately! Benjamin’s big party is coming together. I just have to finish my cookies, make cake pops, and of course…. make the cake (or cupcakes, I still haven’t decided- I have time, the party’s Saturday!).

While making some royal icing, I decided, for some reason, this would be a good time to share what I thought was a brilliant discovery. I had noticed in the past that my royal icing recipe was unpredictable. Some days, it would turn out smooth and perfect, and other days, it would be stiff and dry chalky. I had been using a box of confectioners sugar, but I bought a 2lb bag since I had a lot of icing to make that day. I tried to divide the bag in half to make two batches, and that’s when I discovered that 2lbs actually includes the weight of the bag. So, half the bag was far less than one lb. Ever since, I have been weighing my powdered sugar, and my results have been consistent. In order to get an accurate 16oz of sugar, I needed to add this much more to a 1lb box:

That’s A BIG difference. And I have the feeling that different brands also have different weights per package.

So, here I am, feeling good that I may have a useful tip to share, and what do I do? I add 12 ounces of water to my doubled recipe instead of 12 tbsp, reminding myself that I am still a novice. I have a lot still to learn and I really appreciate all of the cookie bloggers out there who share their knowledge and experiences.(Some of my favorites include The Sweet Adventures of Sugarbelle, Confessions of a Cookbook Queen, and Sweetopia. They generously share not only beautiful pictures of their creations, but also detailed how-to’s so we can all attempt to do it ourselves!)

Here is a little sneak peak of the project that has been consuming every waking moment… well, the moments that I am not working or chasing down a one-year-old with no fear or losing a battle of wills to a four-and-a-half-year-old:

Caterpillar Food

I also did some really over the top cookies for a 75th birthday (I went a little overboard with the disco dust…..) but it wouldn’t be fair to post those pictures until the birthday girl gets to see them, so I’ll post those soon!!!

Good Night!

 

2 thoughts on “A Botched Batch

Leave a Reply

