A “Tangled” Playdate With Ellie (this post has NOTHING to do with cookies)

I had no cookie commitments this week, and I know the next three weeks will be very busy. After all of the craziness of the last month surrounding her brother’s birthday, I wanted to spend the day doing something special with Ellie.

One of the things that makes Ellie so much fun is her enthusiasm for everything. Despite the fact that she is not afraid of dirt (loves it, in fact), is fluent in “potty talk”, and has been known to take down boys twice her age and size if need be, she is a frilly girly-girl at the core. When she grows up, she wants to be Daphne from Scooby Doo …. the Sara Michelle Gellar version- because she is also “Puffy who fights vamps” (Ellie’s words). A few months ago, on a rainy day just like today, we had a “Pinkalicious” mommy-daughter day. We wore our sparkliest pink clothes, read the book, did some activities, and, of course, baked some “Pinkatastic Pink Cupcakes” (any vanila cupcake recipe with some pink food coloring will do, I also pureed a handful of strawberries and added them to creamcheese frosting instead of milk) -then ate as many as we could to see if we would also turn pink.

Today, Ellie chose a “Tangled” playdate. The idea for this one actually started on Wednesday when she spotted the Rapunzel tower playset at Target. I suggested we make our own (let’s just say we own a Tinkerbelle, Strawberry Shortcake, Olivia, and Batman playset, not to mention enough Barbie rooms to fill OUR house- all of which were fun for about three days).

Ellie helped me pick out the materials at AC Moore, and we built this together:

Well, I built it. Ellie added the felt flower stickers.

It was actually pretty easy. I used a cool touch hot glue gun, so the glue dried very quickly and I had to work fast. The full directions are on Disneyfamily.com, or you can click here. The most surprising part was that she only made ONE comment about wishing she had the playset from Target instead!

We watched the movie, cleaned up the living room a little while dancing around to the opening song, “When Will My Life Begin?”, and played a few rounds of I’ll be Rapunzel, you can be Mother Gothel and Benjamin will be Flynn Rider. Then we had a snack:

Rapunzel cheese and cracker

It’s probably obvious, but the face is a cracker, the hair is a deconstructed Polly-O Twist, the mouth is a slice of strawberry, eyes are the inner part of a sugar snap pea, and the grapes are filler. 🙂

Finally, Ellie helped me make dessert for after dinner:

Tangled pops

The yellow candy dripping down the sticks is totally supposed to represent Rapunzel’s hair hanging out of the tower window. I swear. After I dipped them, the Princess of Sprinkles topped them off with purple sanding sugar.

And that was it. I was sure she would want to read one of her “Tangled” books tonight before bed, but she actually chose “Pinkalicious”. She also asked if we could make pink cupcakes tomorrow.

If you have any rainy day ideas please leave a note or a link in my comments. I know she wants to do a “Daphne from Scooby Doo” day soon. And I know it won’t be too long before I’ll need to incorporate both kids’ interests into rainy day activities.

I mentioned that the next few weeks are going to be very busy. There are two projects in particular I am very excited about. I can’t wait to see if they turn out the way I hope!!!!

Good Night!

PS- My four and a half year old daughter has never seen an episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She came downstairs one night after bed time, and I happened to have it on. Although “Scooby Doo” is her favorite movie, she loves to dance to MJ’s “Thriller” video, and the only part she didn’t like about “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” is how mean Draco “Mouth-boy” is to Harry… I DO set limits as to what she can watch!!!!

Leave a Reply

