Mimosa Scones (My First Ever Original Recipe!)

So, sometimes inspiration comes from some crazy places. Like, say, a hang-over. Not mine! Seriously! A friend’s! Anyway, I spent the day yesterday with some great women from my book club, and naturally the conversation turned to mimosas (just like most meetings… discuss book for 5 minutes, discuss kids for 10 minutes, drink wine the rest of the time).  I have another good friend in book club, who also bakes, and she and I got to talking about mimosa cupcakes. We had both heard of champagne cupcakes so it seemed easy enough to add some orange to it. When we got home ,we both immediately got to work researching recipes and,  within seconds of each other, started emailing our ideas back and forth. But then I got to thinking…

Mimosa= Champagne and orange juice, traditionally served at brunch.

Cupcake=Anytime food, but not typically thought of as a “brunch” food.

Muffin= Ideal brunch food!!!!!!

So I grabbed my library copy of “The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion” (which I am totally going to buy when I need to return it to the library) and found the recipe for a basic muffin. BUT, I didn’t have a few ingredients, AND I wanted to incorporate champagne. So I made quite a few changes popped them in the oven, and what came out was not a muffin. Somehow, and I don’t know why (because the section on basic scones was torn out of my book…) my muffins had become scones. AND they were awesome scones!

Scone + Mimosa = Brunch!!!!

Preheat oven to 400 and lightly spray a muffin tin with cooking spray

you will need:

2 c all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 stick butter (1/2 cup)

1/2 c sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp orange blossom water (orange extract)

1/2 c champagne

1 Tbsp orange zest

(For glaze)

1 1/2c confectioner’s sugar

3 Tbsp champagne

-Mix together first 4 ingredients

-Cream butter and sugar, add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla and orange extract.

-I added the flour mixture 1/2 cup at a time, alternating with the champagne (I don’t know if this matters or if you can add the champagne to the wet ingredients before the flour mixture, I’m just used to alternating wet and dry ingredients for my cupcakes)

-Add orange zest

-Scoop by 1/4 cup scoops into a muffin tin (I got nine, but you could easily get 10)

-Bake for 20 minutes or until the tops spring back when touched lightly, meanwhile make glaze

-In a saucepan, stir together the champagne and confectioner’s sugar. Bring to boil then reduce to simmer. Simmer, stirring until mixture is smooth.

-When muffins are done, allow to cool for 2 minutes in pan, then turn out onto a cooling rack. Top with 1 Tbsp of the glaze.

-Serve with fruit and a mimosa (add an egg white if you need to feel like it’s healthy) and enjoy your brunch!

Ellie made that Poppy bouquet using coffee filters and food coloring 🙂

I originally added some orange zest to the glaze, too. It was really good, but I will leave it out the next time. It kind of over powered the taste of the champagne.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Mimosa Scones (My First Ever Original Recipe!)

Leave a Reply

