Pineapple Cookies and Pina Colada Pancakes

I am so not ready for summer to be over. Normally, I am not a summer person at all. Give me a crisp Fall day- you know the kind. It’s not cold enough for a jacket, but you’ll need a light sweater over your tee-shirt- even though you’ll probably have to take it off and tie it around your waist at some point. So normally, even though I wouldn’t want to rush Summer, I do look forward to Fall.

This year, however…Summer can stay as long as it wants. My baby girl starts KINDERGARDEN this year (I may have mentioned this in the past?).

This panic attack tirade started because I needed to buy her a sunhat for a field trip she was taking with her camp. She won’t normally wear hats, so I haven’t bothered to buy her one in the past. But, since she needed it, I went to find one. I had to go to three different stores before I found sunhats….. the stores are all filled with Fall clothes and school supplies. Seriously. It’s barely the middle of July! What’s the rush?

So I am determined to focus on Summer things right now. Like luaus and pina coladas.

And so you can keep the Summer in your Summer, too- I am going to show you how.

I have made luau cookies several times this summer. They are so much fun to make, and they are not difficult at all. They are mostly 1-2 step cookies, since most of the details are made with wet on wet icing. The pineapple, in particular, has become one of my favorite pieces, mostly because it is big enough to fit words and makes a great centerpiece cookie. (I got this particular cutter at Sur La Table for $1.00)

You will need icing in a “one step consistency”. This is the 10 or 20 second icing (depending on whose blog you are reading) which is thick enough to stand on it’s own and not run off the side of the cookie, but thin enough that it settles and flows and doesn’t show lines when you fill. Divide it into 3 bowls, and tint it yellow/gold, green, and brown. (Keep in mind that you will need more yellow, less green, and only a little brown.)

 Out line your pineapple and let dry for a few minutes. If you are doing several, by the time you outline the last one, the first will be good to go.

Next fill in the body of the pineapple, working with 2-3 at a time. While icing is still very wet, pipe 4 horizontal brown lines. Before that dries, use a toothpick, dragging the point up, down, up, and down to create a zigzag.

 

Next fill alternating parts of the leaves with green. To keep the definition between the leaves, let this dry for 30-60 minutes. Then fill in the rest of the leaves.

 

 

Let this dry several hours, or overnight before adding writing to, or wrapping the cookie.

Now- it’s the weekend. Did you think I didn’t have a pancake recipe?

Pina Colada Pancakes (adapted slightly from this post by A La Graham, which I found on Pinterest)

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • Fresh pineapple cut into chunks or pineapple canned in juice (drained and patted dry)
  • Shredded coconut (I used sweetened because that is what I had on hand)
  1. Combine dry ingredients.
  2. Whisk together wet ingredients and add to dry. Mix until just combined and lumps are broken up.
  3. Heat pan, over med-high heat. When pan is hot, spray with cooking spray and drop batter by the tablespoon onto the pan.
  4. Flip pancakes when bubbles start to rise to the top, and cook for another 1-2 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, in another pan, sautee coconut until brown and a little crispy, add pineapple chunks and sautee until pineapple is tender and slightly brown.
  6. Top pancakes with pineapple coconut mixture.

If this wasn’t for the kids, too, I may have added a bit of dark rum to the pineapple/coconut topping and simmered to reduce the rum and burn off a bit of the alcohol. I may have to make this again soon just to try that!

Have a great weekend!

By the way…if you love the flip-flop cookies I got that inspiration from this post by The Sweet Adventures of SugarBelle.

2 thoughts on “Pineapple Cookies and Pina Colada Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Zucchini Bread « elliesbitesdecoratedcookies

Leave a Reply

