Chocolate Zucchini Bread

It turns out that when you don’t pick your zucchini, they just keep growing and growing. I learn something new every day! So when my parents went away for a few days, and my dad said, “help yourself to anything you see in the garden” and I never took anything, they came back to this (and others like it):

(If you look towards the bottom of the picture, you can see my garden… nothing grows there.)

When I saw this monster of a zucchini, I immediately thought…”bread, no- chocolate bread”.

Quick tip: line your pan with parchment. Then you wont lose a chunk of the bottom when it sticks to the pan. Although the part that sticks to the pan doesn’t have any calories, right?

(Recipe adapted from Food Network)

  • 2 3/4 c all purpose flour
  • 1/4 c Dutch Process cocoa (I use Hershey’s)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 3/4 c applesauce
  • 1/4 c vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups grated zucchini (leave skin on)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp orange zest (I didn’t have any oranges on hand, so I used 1 tsp orange blossom water)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and prepare 2 loaf pans (spray, then line with parchment)
  2. Sift together dry ingredients
  3. Beat eggs until fluffy, then whisk eggs with both sugars.
  4. Add applesauce, oil, vanilla, zucchini, orange zest, chocolate chips (and nuts if you want them) and mix until combined.
  5. Stir in dry ingredients and mix until blended.
  6. Pour into prepared loaf pans and bake for about 50 minutes, or until toothpick stuck into the center of the loaf comes out clean.
  7. Let cool for a minute then turn out of the pan to let cool completely on a rack.

(When I make this again- I will leave out the chocolate chips and replace them with another cup of shredded zucchini, and probably reduce the amount of cocoa powder to 2 tablespoons, rather than a 1/4 cup. Just so you can taste a little more of the zucchini. Also, I’d probably halve the all purpose flour and substitute the other half with whole wheat. I don’t know why I didn’t think to do that this time.)

Of course, this didn’t even use up half of the zucchini. So you get a bonus recipe.

The missing pieces are our taste tests….

Coconut fish and zucchini (recipe courtesy of my father-in-law)

  1. Zucchini cut into slices
  2. A white fish- like fluke-preferably fresh
  3. Coconut water (I used the liquid left in the can after I removed the thicker milk when I made these pancakes)
  4. Bread crumbs
  • Preheat oven to 375 and spray a baking dish lightly with cooking spray
  • Line dish with sliced zucchini
  • Place fish on top of zucchini
  • Pour coconut water over the top of the fish and zucchini
  • Sprinkle with breadcrumbs (we would have used panko, if we had any on hand)
  • Bake for about 20 minutes or until fish is cooked through and flakes easily with a fork.

There you go, one healthy recipe and one… um, well, bread isn’t bad for you,and it has applesauce and zucchini in it, so it’s like a serving of fruit and vegetables, right?

This is going to be a crazy, busy week, with Ellie’s birthday party coming up, so I doubt I’ll have anything new, but I will have cookies and a cake to share this weekend!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

