500 “Like” Give-Away And The Story Behind “Ellie’s Bites”

Some of us have been friends for a long time, and some of us have just met so I thought now is a good time to tell you a little bit about myself. My name is Stephanie and I am a part time dental hygienist and an almost full time stay at home mom. Until about two years ago, I actually used to work full time, but a bunch of circumstances seemed to come together all at once. First, my husband graduated from nursing school and got a job working over nights. Second, my parents’ hygienist (they are dentists) left to have a baby and came back to work part time, so my parents offered the other two days to me. Third, my daughter, Ellie (who was almost three at the time), was expelled from her daycare. For biting.

I know, it is very hard to be the parent of a biter. We had meeting after meeting with the daycare and her teachers, I even talked to a patient of mine who was a child psychologist. The verdict was that at that age it is a very normal thing. According to the psychologist, she doesn’t worry about it until the child is old enough and able to express him/herself verbally. I won’t go on and on about the details. Suffice it to say that someone complained and we were asked to leave, and when we moved her to a new daycare facility, the behavior stopped – whatever the issue actually was . But the new daycare was 15 minutes out of the way from my already 45 minute commute, so we decided that I would take the part time job at my parents’ office and be home three days a week. (I was soon pregnant with Benjamin, so this worked out for the best anyway.)

I decorated my first cookie for Ellie’s first birthday party- it was a Jimmy Buffett theme. Do you want to laugh?

This was August, 2007. Since I have been home more, I have started planning our meals, and making homemade desserts. And I started doing more cookies for my nieces and nephew’s birthdays. Around the time of Ben’s first birthday, this past March, I was searching Sesame Street cookies on line and that is how I discovered Bakerella. Then SugarBelle. Then I was hooked on cookie decorating. I started paying more attention to technique and I stopped piping my icing out of plastic bags with the corners cut off. And I practiced, and practiced, and made cookies for my friends, and practiced some more. And I could still use practice, but I developed confidence (which- if you knew me in highschool- you know I lack). And I am HUGELY grateful for you, for giving me that confidence.

People are always asking why I chose “Ellie’s Bites” as the name of my cookies. Now you know. If it wasn’t for my Ellie’s bites, my cookies would still look like those margaritas and palm trees, and we would still be eating pizza and take-out four nights a week, LOL!!!!

So I picked up some really cool cookie cutters recently, and I am going to give them away to one of you. Actually, I have two things. So I will be picking two people. Since I just told you a little about me, I would love to learn a little about you. Leave me a comment (here on this blog, not on my Facebook page) and let me know something about you. Do you have kids – was one of them a biter? Do you make cookies or cakes, or do you just like to look at the pictures? Do you work or stay home (if you stay home- how do you keep the kids busy? I am sooo interested in that since I will be looking for ways to keep Ellie occupied once Kindergarden starts)? On Wednesday night, July 27, I will pick two comments (content doesn’t matter, I will write down the number of comments and pull a number out of a basket) and the first number I pick will win this:

And the second number I pick will get this:

Please don’t forget to leave your comment here, not on Facebook, and make sure you leave me an email so I can reach you. Thank you so much for letting me ramble on and on!!!! You all are really the best!

32 thoughts on “500 “Like” Give-Away And The Story Behind “Ellie’s Bites”

  1. I’m a stay at home momma of 2. My oldest starts 1st grade soon and my youngest is almost 5, another year of pre k. Neither kids are biters. My oldest has food allergies and can’t eat much. My 4 year old is a born baker. She loves cooking.

  2. HI I am a mother of 2 boys ( both biters) but have been good about it lately. I love baking , cookies , cupcakes, cake, biscotti. Anything really. I am also a dental assistant which I will start back part time temping next week. I have just started decorating cookies and love it. So do my friends who get to eat them.

  3. I am an at home mom of two boys 12 & 14.5 (going on 30). I love to bake and discovered my passion for baking about 16 years ago. While I’m not sweeping flour off the floor I seem to collect cookie cutters and fabric. Congrats on 500 “likes”.

  4. I have been a stay at home mom of three two girls 22 & 21 my son would have been 23. I lost him at the age of 17. Now I am a grandmother of one grandson and a granddaughter on the way. I love to bake cakes and cookies for my children and now my grand children. I love you work.

  5. Hi! Love your name and how it came about. I literally said “awh” after I got done reading the explanation. I too am a stay at home mom with a toddler who I have just started to potty train. I try to decorate cookies during nap and when everyone is sleeping.

  6. Ok Steph!You asked for it.I have known you for a VERY long time & know the confidence thing is very new to you.Your cookies ARE AWESOME!The ones you did for Peyton were..OOOH so good.I am a working mom of 2.My daughter is 22 months old & my son is 4 months old.I love to bake/decorate cakes mostly.Hoping you & I can collaborate on a few things soon.Let me know!! Congrats on the 500 likes! 1000 is right around the corner! Love ya!!!!

  7. Hi im a part time working mom of two. i love to bake and am not nearly as good as you, i much rather eat them lol. im working on potty training my oldest who is 2 and my youngest is just starting to walk at 9 months so im really busy and dont get to bake or decorate cookies during nap time bc im still trying to get a nap in during that time lol!

  8. Hi, i am a stay at home mom of 3 teens.. I started cake decorating 14 years ago when I was pregnant with my 2nd child. I stopped for a while when my kids were 8,10 & 12 years old. Life got too busy and I put my dream on hold. Well Now that they are older, I AM BACK, baby! I am loving decorating cakes & am totally obsessed witj cookies now too. I am a fan of yours on FB, & love to look around for more inspiration! In regards to keeping your daughter occupied, I used to have a special box of toys that the kids could only play with when i decorated. Because they couldn’t have them all the time, it. Made them look forward to when i was decorating. Good luck & Happy Caking!

  9. I am a preschool teacher of 2 1/2- 3 years so I totally understand the whole biting issue. I also have 2 boys now 22 and almost 20. I just started decorating cookies, My youngest went away to college on a baseball scholarship. It was hard to have him go away, but even harder because he went out of state. So I decided I would make cookies for each game they played when we went to see him in April. I made 5 dozen of each baseballs, jerseys with their numbers and baseball mitts. I do have to say they turned out pretty good. My son was very surprised because I had never made cookies from scratch or decorated anything. The team loved them and have request for more. That was my start in to decorating cookies, I now make them for friends and co-workers. I am even doing some for a rehearsal dinner next month, not bad for a mom looking to fill her time because of an empty nest. My email is deena_killgore!yahoo.com

  10. I work full time and just got into doing cookies this year. I love to bake and decorate them. And I am love looking at cookie pics. So many talented people out there.

  11. Hi! I already won your other contest, but I still wanted to come by and say hi and tell you that those Star Wars cookie cutters are the BOMB! My boys are both HUGE Star Wars lovers and my youngest saw those and nearly went crazy with joy, LOL! I am gonna HAVE to find some of those for them! LOL!
    Anywho, I’ll tell you more about myself even though we’ve been chatting a bit on FB (Sweet Ivy Confections).
    I’m Melody. I’m a newbie baker (less than a year). And I’m working on perfecting my baking/decorating skills in the sugarcrafting field. I’ve been married for almost 18 years and have two boys ages 15 and almost 11. No biters, LOL!
    I run a childcare/preschool business but am looking to move into baking/decorating full time someday. 🙂

  12. I’m a stay at home mother of three. I started making cookies because I wanted them for my daughter’s birthday party but could bear to pay $49.00 per doz for the ones I wanted. So I practiced and by the time her party came around I had some pretty good cookies there. Now I make them as a charity fundraiser. 🙂

  13. Hi, My name is Darby & my son was a biter! I feel like it could be a regular AA meeting salutation!

    I have two amazing kiddos, Braden (my biter til age 3) who is soon to be 9, and Baryn Foster, age 4.5! I just sold my retail gift/Stationery store after 5.5 years and am enjoying being a stay at home mom! I have been married 13 years to my neighbor of 18 years when we started dating, and we now live across the street from BOTH sets of parents in Midland, Texas. I have enjoyed reading & looking at your FB posts, as I am a FB addict!!! You are very inspiring, and may have to pick up your hobby when I start getting used to a routine after school gets back in (not soon enough!!!)

    Thanks so much,
    Darby

  14. I’m a dental hygienist too! Going on 18 years. I work FT so my cookies definitely need more practice. Now if I could just find the time!

  15. Hello, my name is Pam. I have been a stay at home mom the first part of my 2 daughter’s journeys and during that time did a lot of baking for schools and activities. When the girls got to a young teen, I went to work at our church for the last 12 years. Through GOD’s prompting I stepped out on Faith, to do something I love doing, being a Martha. I love to bake, whether it be cookies, cakes, cakepops, cakeballs, cupcakes, chocolates or anything dipped in ChoCoLate! I’m excited on my New Journey of Life!

    I love finding great Baking Designers like yourself to inspire me! Keep up the Great Work and thanks for sharing your talents!

    Joyfully,
    Pam
    aka PammyLiCious and Pambroidery

  16. Hi,
    I am a single girl who over the last year started doing cake decorating and decorating cookies. I work fulltime and I don’t have any children. I have a niece and 2 nephews. I am loving finding different people on facebook that are doing the same thing. I love the way each one’s personally comes out with their decorating!

  17. I also am a dental hygienist. I was working full-time up until about 2 months ago. Now I only work 3 days a week, but I help out in my husband’s chiropractic office the other 3 days. I really enjoy doing hygiene only 2 days…I found it was very rough on my body!! Good thing I am married to a Chiropracter!! 😉 I started making cookies about 6 months ago as a hobby. Your cookies are inspirational! I would be lost without help from all of the wonderful bloggers out there!! Thank you for all that you do and share!!
    P.S. the person Ellie bit probably deserved it!! Hehehe

  18. Hi Stephanie! My name is Stephanie as well 😉 I hope to be a mother one day but for now I work full time between two jobs! I am a behavior therapist for children diagnosed with Autism and I am a staff research assistant at the University of California, Irvine. Keeps me busy! In between these two crazy jobs I bake for my blog. Some of the kiddos I work with are “biters” and….let me just say it is challenging! I’ve been bitten myself several times and have the scars to prove it! But we work on that behavior so that it won’t be likely to happen again. My passion is decorating cookies, but I am slowly working up the courage to decorate cakes. Just need a little more confidence 😉 to work with fondant.

  19. I have 3 kids, one just finished his first year at college-he was 16 when he started, 15 and 14 yr old girls who are too pretty for their own good and have already started to give me grey hair(yes I found one and was devestated) and by the way I’m 35. I know do the math, I’m a young mom of teenagers. I make cakes, cookies, and “stuff” all the time. I have a bad habbit of making new things, and never writting down how much of what I put into it and so we never really have the same thing twice. Bad thing is-I always make good food and when company comes-they ask for recipes-and I have one to give! Anyhoo, I like your blog, and I have one too. Unfortunately I don’t seem to have the time to write. I work 40 plus hours a week as a Certified Pharmacy Tech. and then come home to my family and whatever cake orders I have. This week I have 3, a pirate ship, a baseball themed cake, and a tractor themed cake. But I hope I win one set of cookie cutters cause I could really use-either one!

  20. Hello Stephanie!! 🙂 Kara here from FB Cookies in the Cupboard! 🙂 Stay at home mother of two boys, they will both be in school in the fall (Kindergarten and 2nd Gr.), which will mean less long nights decorating for me! Before the boys came along, I was artist turned elementary teacher. I’ve always loved baking and decorating, but started to branch out and offer my creations to others in January. I do cookies, cakes, cupcakes and cake pops, but my favorite is cookie decorating. 🙂

    I have enjoyed reading your blog post about you! I couldn’t agree with you more – it is great to put a name to a “cookie”! I loved learning how you got the name “Ellie’s Bites”! My youngest son is “all boy” whereas my oldest is a parent pleaser, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

    If my name gets pulled for the star wars cutters, please pull someone else’s name (I just got the set at William Sonoma on sale). I just loved reading your blog and wanted to comment (of course, if I get the Mickey set, I’m all over that! haha!). Hugs!

  21. Hi Stephanie,

    Nancy from Sharp Cookie here. I am a 3rd career professional cookie baker and I loved how you got the name of your business! My first career was in the corporate world (you know the type, 6-figure salary by the time I was in my early 30’s – didn’t make it) and my second career was in the classroom. While I never had children of my own, I started baking for my high school English as a Second Language/ math students to encourage them to come to tutoring. One thing let to another – I started selling cookies out of my house while I was teaching (totally crazy) and in the process, I found out that cookies were way more fun than fighting with the school administration’s educational philosophy (I lost that war). Now I have a commercial kitchen and bake full-time and try to make a living out of this. Not easy in this economy but getting there. I hope the new shop will do the trick. We should open late next week (fingers crossed).

    I have enjoyed getting to know other cookie “nuts” out there while my new shop is being built. I have gotten some great ideas and am looking forward to sharing with so many new friends in the future!

    Congratulations on the 500 likes! I would love to have that by the end of 2011…we’ll see.

    Hugs from the Mexican border.

  22. You are awesome!!!!! So proud/impressed with you!!!!! I like to bake with the kids, but I like to eat your cookies even better! They were so impressed with my lollipop cookies at the end of the school year. I think they thought I forgot how to bake, since we have your cookies at every event of signifigance! lol When I moved to Nj at 13 years old, you were my first friend in school…so glad we’ve reconnected! xoxo-Tracy

  23. wowsa Impressive ladies on here I love it…well I’m a mom and grandma I have 5 kids and my hunny has 3 boys ..so its a mouth full to hollar at..Now their all grown up.most of them have kids of their own..We have 2 in the Army (one in Iraq) so were always on edge..we recently lost our youngest..was a truely awful thing we miss him every day..I have had many careers but now manage a non-profit thrift store in a little town of 800 people..I was recently given some cookie cutters (snow flakes) so I’m a excited but very new cookie baker..I follow you on FB and pick up tips all the time..thank you..Marian

  24. Stephanie,
    I am very impress with your blog and your baking! I wish I lived closer so I could try your cookies and we could bake together! As your Aunt I have known you all your life though not well as you know I am on the West Coast and you have always been on the East Coast. Your blog have given me a chance to know you a little better. I enjoyed reading it! I love to bake too though I am not good at decorating. My speciality is Choc Chip cookies, Cheesecake (makes its own crust), Banana Bread w/ Choc Chips, and Lemon Loaf. My Cheesecake and Lemon Loaf gets the most requests. I also sell Pampered Chef so I do have some great kitchen tools and spices at my disposal. Glad we could connect on FB. Love you, Aunt Mindy

  25. Steph-

    WOW!!! I am super impressed!!! Your cookies look so awesome…do you take orders? I love the Yo Gabba Gabba Cookies and I was thinking of that being the theme for Kaya’s 2nd b-day.

    Anyway, I am a mom of 1 little girl, who will be 2 in Sept. and the mom of 2 basset hounds (they are my children too)!!! I work full time in the real estate industry and it is awful right now!!!

    I love to bake! I haven’t really gotten into decorating yet, as I have no artistic skills at all, but would love to learn. The only cookies I really do bake are dog cookies for my 4 legged kids and have thought about starting a business doing that, but haven’t been able to get to that point yet.

    Anyway, so glad you were able to find your confidence since High School! Hope to see you again soon at either the carnival or portrait studio:) But Seriously…can I order Yo Gabba Gabba cookies????

    Take care-
    Brandie

  26. My name is Jamie and my wife is an aspiring baker.
    My two sons LOVE LOVE LOVE Star Wars and have every line memorized from each of the movies, LOL!
    They would be in heaven if I won these Star Wars cookie cutters, LOL!

  27. I am the mother of three … my daughter, who is 18, is pregnant with my first grandchild and is due August 30. I am learning to be comfortable being called, “Nana.” LOL
    My boys are 15 and 4. Yep, you read that correctly! After trying for years to add to our family and finally sitting down with God and coming to peace with being a family of 4 … God blessed us with another little one. 🙂

    I bake and decorate cakes, mostly … although I also love to do cupcakes and am getting very interested in the whole cookie thing. I made some for the kids in our church musical (using tips and tricks from Karen’s Cookies). I am a SAHM and am still working on how to keep Cameron busy while I am working on cakes. Play-Doh still works wonders. I set him up in the other room and that buys me at least a little time. 😉 I love your story, I love your cookies and I love your blog. Keep on keepin’ on!

    Blessings,

    Sandra

  28. Hi my name is Lynn, I am 47 yrs old and I no longer work outside of the house. I worked as an Office manager, medical biller and medical receptionist for a Dermatology office for the last 15 yrs. I stopped working a year ago next month for health reasons. Seems work stresses me out too much and I end up having heart attacks. I have had at least 6 and now have 6 stents. I had even gone part time and that just didn’t help. I had no children but am the stepmother to 2 daughters ages 26 and 21. The 26 yr old has 2 beautiful daughters, Ruby Ann will be 3 in October and Penny Lou turned 1 March 31st. They are the loves of my life. They call me Nonnie and I cant get over how much I Love them. I am trying to cook more often and want to start blogging also. Very nice to meet you. Good Luck everyone!!

  29. I have 3 boys and they love cookies…..I normally stick to buttercream or cream cheese frosting on cookies….I have not tried royal icing yet, but I have gathered everything required…..just waiting for temps under 100 before I will turn on my oven.

Leave a Reply

