Ellie’s 5th Birthday Cakes

So, my husband and I had a little disagreement last night. He can’t understand why I stay up until 2 am making cakes and cupcakes  when it is much easier, and actually a little less expensive to go to a bakery and buy something. He actually could not see the parallel when I asked him why he wants to get up at 4 am to go spend the day on a boat with a fishing rod when I can just go to Whole Foods and get something that has already been cleaned and deboned.

I guess he had a valid point, though, when he asked WHY I needed to make 5 different versions of cakes and cupcakes for Ellie’s birthday.

#1- This was the cake that we had at her party two weeks ago. The theme was Alice in Wonderland.

#2- These were the cupcakes for the party, just in case there wasn’t enough cake (there was).

#3- These were the “Mad Hatter Cake” inspired cookies that were the party favors at her party.

#4- These were the hot pink and yellow cupcakes that the princess Ellie requested to bring into camp the day before her actual birthday (since she would not be there ON her birthday).

This was the cake we had last night to celebrate her ACTUAL birthday. (Sorry about the blurry picture. I forgot to take one before bringing the cake to the table, and I was getting yelled at to cut the cake instead of photographing it!!!)

The second set of cupcakes and the second cake are made from the recipe Glorious Treats posted recently. I loved it. The frosting is my favorite from I am baker (and the rose cake is also inspired by hers).

I don’t care what he thinks, by the way, my peanut is worth every bit of butter, flour, sugar, and vanilla. ❤

 

4 thoughts on “Ellie’s 5th Birthday Cakes

  1. Yea, my husband doesn’t understand either. I stay up til 2 or 3 a.m.-sometimes all night, making cakes for people I know. And he doesn’t get why I do it! I don’t “make” any money for my time. And I do work 40 or more a week at my day job. But I LOVE doing it. If I had more time, I’d be trying out so many more recipes and projects. I guess mine better be glad I have a job-to take time away from my caking! Plus I think he’s mad cause he doesn’t get to eat any of it!

  2. They are truly beautiful cakes (and cookies!), you have oodles of talent, well done. My hubby doesn’t really get it either but would happily spend hours with a fishing rod (and may not even catch anything!). It’s like Cookies in the Cupboard said, it’s your passion, enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

