Chocolate Filled Cookie Cups

I made this cake for my mom’s birthday last week. It is a vanilla cake with chocolate ganache filling and buttercream icing.

I had a lot of ganache left over, so I played around. I scooped little teaspoon sized balls of ganache and froze them overnight. The next day I whipped up a batch of my favorite cookie dough and wrapped it around those little frozen ganache balls, placed them in cupcake liners in a cupcake pan, and baked them for 15 minutes. Just to see what would happen

I would consider this experiment a success, right?

I had left over buttercream, too. So I froze little balls of that, too. I made some chocolate cookie dough and wrapped up those little frozen buttercream balls, placed them in cupcake liners and baked those for 15 minutes.

Ummmm…. not as successful. The buttercream, predictably, melted and the whole thing caved in. But it wasn’t a total loss.

I added a scoop of ice cream. Because mint chocolate chip makes everything good. đŸ™‚

Ganache:

  • 1 bag Ghirardelli’s 60% dark chocolate chips
  • 1 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  1. Pour bag of chocolate chips into a medium heat-proof bowl
  2. In a small sauce pan, bring cream to a boil (watch carefully, because if you turn your back for a second, it WILL boil over and it is not easy to clean)
  3. Pour boiling cream over the chocolate and let sit for about 10 minutes
  4. Stir until mixed
  5. Refrigerate until cool, but still liquid
  6. Whisk until slightly thicker, but don’t overwhisk
  7. Refrigerate until firm enough to scoop
  8. Scoop teaspoon size scoops of the ganache and freeze overnight between layers of parchment.
  9. Use your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe -leave out the chips (you can find my favorite recipe here). Wrap dough around the frozen ganache and place in a cupcake pan lined with cupcake liners.
  10. Bake until cookie dough starts browning slightly. It took my recipe 15 minutes
  11. Enjoy plain, or fill with icecream, MnM’s, or your favorite candy… or top with buttercream or whipped cream (YUM). I sent mine to work with Bryan.

I’m linking up to Wonka Wednesdays at Hugs And Cookies XOXO

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Filled Cookie Cups

Leave a Reply

