Easy Halloween Cookies: Mrs. Frankenstein and Alien Man (How-to)

Did you guess what summer cutters I never got around to using (besides the flowers and the sail boat)?  If you said soft-serve ice cream and the ice cream sundae (from Wilton) then you guessed right!!!!

To make Mrs. Frankenstein, I used the soft-serve ice cream cutter and (using a one-step consistency icing) I gave her a green face:

By “one step” I mean thick enough to make an outline, but thin enough to fill without showing lines (also known as 10 or 20 second icing-mine is usually around 10, any thicker and it is difficult for me to get smooth before it starts to set. I think the variations probably have to do with climate and it has been pretty humid here lately.) I outlined and then filled immediately so the outline wouldn’t show. I allowed this to dry overnight. With the humidity recently, I have had some bleeding issues and didn’t want to take any chances. Plus, it was about 1:30 in the morning.

When the green is set, add a face. And some black streaks in the hair.

I used a drop of the same green icing I used for the face to make the nose, then two big drops of white (using a Wilton #10 tip) immediately adding two drops of black (using a Wilton #5 tip). Go crazy with the hair… this is YOUR Mrs. Frankenstein. (And as I said before, I am not entirely sure she was green in the first place, so creative liberties are welcome to be taken!!!!) BUT if you are prone to bleeding, it is a good idea to make the black streaks first and let them dry for several hours, if not overnight, before adding lighter colors.

Fill in the rest of the hair (if you want to make sections, wait a bit in between each one to add texture) make sure, if you want to add disco dust or sanding sugar, either do those sections first or wait for the others to dry COMPLETELY! Then add any defining facial features or scars (to make her easily identifiable in a line-up if needed).

Alien Man is even easier…. mostly because there is no wrong or right way. I started with the “face”:

Then add “eyes” and a “torso”

Last, give them a “method of movement”.

I imagined my little guys come from a planet with a very rocky terrain, so I gave them wheels and a gliding-hover thing so they wouldn’t be constantly stubbing their toes.

I hope you enjoyed this! I would love to see your version if you decide to try them!

One question- does covering the cookie in silver disco dust make it entirely unappealing to you, or is it just me? I have no problem with white, or rainbow, but for some reason, I can not bring myself to eat the silver ones.

Have a great labor day everyone!! If you want to find me Monday night, I will be curled up on the couch in a little ball sobbing my heart out…….( I think I mentioned Ellie starts Kindergarten on Tuesday….) :,(

I am linking this post to Tip Me Tuesday at Tip Junkie

10 thoughts on “Easy Halloween Cookies: Mrs. Frankenstein and Alien Man (How-to)

  1. LOVE the creativity! Make cookies on Tuesday to keep yourself busy. It’s an exciting time for Ellie and so hard for us moms to let our kids go. My son will be going away to college next year. I can’t even think about it without crying my eyes out!

    • Thank you Cristin! I wish we lived closer so we could meet for a drinks on our babies’ milestone days (ummmm, or is cookie decorating healthier?) As it is, I have to work Tuesday, but I blocked off my schedule to see her onto the bus, then I have to run into work for one patient, then I can run home to get her off of the bus, then I have to go back to work. It will either take my mind off of it, or my patients will think I have lost it completely, lol!

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving Turkey…. Three Ways « elliesbitesdecoratedcookies

  3. Pingback: Fine Featherheads Blog » Halloween Cookies…Yum!

Leave a Reply

