Candy Corn (Day 21)

I was really hoping I wouldn’t have to go here, but I had another huge fail today, and I was desperate. So in order to stay on track with my days and keep with my candy corn theme, I had no choice but to make my own candy corn. I searched the internet until I found a recipe that did not call for a candy thermometer. (There are two things I am afraid of. Besides spiders. Recipes that require me to “let the dough rise” and recipes that require me to “use a candy thermometer”.) I actually picked this recipe from Sugar Crafter because it didn’t include powdered milk (which I didn’t have) and it called for agave nectar (which I actually did have).

The only thing I changed from Sugar Crafter’s recipe, was the method of cutting out the candy corn. Instead if rolling out ropes and lining them up next to each other, I took larger blocks of the “dough” and stacked them on top of each other, then I sliced the blocks into sheets, then the sheets into triangles. (I’m sorry I didn’t take pictured of that part. The best way to show you is with the tutorial for these cookies from SugarBelle.)

A while ago, Cristin of Cristin’s Cookies wrote on her FaceBook page that she would like to try to make her candy corn cookies in her favorite color. If you know Cristin, even remotely,  you know her favorite color. It also happens to be Ellie’s favorite color. So I “virtually” made Cristin some candy corn, and Ellie is going to eat them for her.

 I added some hot pink disco dust, too, because even candy corn deserves to sparkle!

One thought on “Candy Corn (Day 21)

  1. Wow Stephanie! I am SOOOO honored and tickled pink! 😉 I love your gorgeous PINK candy corn! What a super fun idea! I love these! You seriously made my day… well my night! LOVE them and really appreciate you thinking of me. Tell your daughter to enjoy a big handful just for me! Thanks again! You’re such a sweetie! Cristin (Pinkie)

Leave a Reply

