Chocolate Raspberry Sandwich Cookies

Last weekend was the first weekend in a long time that we didn’t have any birthday parties, Girl Scout field trips, or Sunday School.  It didn’t matter that it was absolutely gorgeous out. I had no intention of leaving the house. I didn’t even plan on getting myself or the kids out of their PJs. Despite the spring weather, we had an all day date planned with Mickey Mouse and his Clubhouse.

As good as it sounds, I always forget what spending the whole day indoors does to two VERY high energy kids.

Around 10am, Ellie started getting antsy. Inspired by Mickey, I decided to make some mouse shaped cookies for the kids. I thought Ellie could help, and we’d have them as a treat after lunch. Since we wouldn’t have time to decorate them, I figured I would make them sandwich cookies, and I would die the filling a Mickey-like red. But I wanted to try something a little different. I had a bag of frozen raspberries in the freezer (is that redundant?). So I heated the berries in a small saucepan with a splash of water until they broke down into a liquidy state. Then I strained them through a fine mesh strainer to remove the seeds (bringing flashbacks of making Ben’s baby food) and returned the liquid to the pot. Then I boiled it a little longer until it was reduced to a syrup. I let the syrup cool, while Ellie and I made the cookies using LilaLoa’s chocolate cookie recipe.

Oh, those little hands look like they may have grown a little since the last time I took pictures like this!!!!

For the filling, I adapted from this recipe by Confessions of a Cookbook Queen.

  • 1/2 envelope unflavored geletin
  • 2 TBSP cold water
  • bowl of hot water
  • 1/2 c shortening
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 c powdered sugar plus more if needed (I wound up using a whole one pound box)
  • raspberry syrup- cooled to room temp (made by cooking frozen or fresh raspberries until liquid, then straining them to remove the seeds, then boiling the liquid to reduce it to a thicker syrup)
  • (optional) drop of red food coloring
  1. Place geletin in a small cup with the cold water, place the small cup into a larger bowl with the hot water. Leave until the geletin liquid is transparent (the geletin is disolved). Remove the small bowl from the hot water and allow to cool to room temp, but not set up.
  2. Cream together the shortening and vanilla.
  3. Slowly add the 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and mix thoroughly. The mixture will be a bit dry.
  4. Add your raspberry syrup until you get your desired color. ( I used about a tablespoon)
  5. Add powdered sugar until the filling is back to a consistency where it is still sticky, but you can roll a little ball that will keep its shape.
  6. If you want, you can add a drop of red coloring. With the tablespoon of syrup I used, I got a dark, bubblegum, pink color. I really wanted red. If you want pink, the coloring is optional.

When I made these Halloween Oreos, I took a little of the filling and pressed it flat, then used my cookie cutter to cut the same shape out of the filling as the cookie. The Mouse cutters are bigger so it worked, but it was kind of a pain. You can do that (especially if you are using a different shape) or you can just roll a small ball out of the filling and press it between two cookies. Then, use a sharp knife to cut away any overhang if you want. Or, you can just put a cookie in your mouth, follow with a small spoonful of filling and chew. It’ll work any of those ways.

Since these were to be an after-lunch treat, I snuck them into the front room, where I get one tiny corner of natural light, so I could take pictures. I thought the kids were eating lunch.

After about 5-10 minutes I hear a piercing scream coming from the kitchen/living room. “MOM!!! BEN’S BLEEDING, THERE IS A LOT OF BLOOD!!!!!” and I panic because I thought I left the knife I used to cut carrot sticks on the counter. It took me a heart stopping second to realize what I DID leave on the counter.

The red food coloring came off of the wall, windowsill, counter, armrests, and -eventually- his hands and face. I don’t think the chair cushion will ever be the same, though.

The next morning, again, we had nothing to do. And I briefly contemplated staying in and being lazy again. Them I loaded the kids into the car and we spent the morning on the playground. Playing hard.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Raspberry Sandwich Cookies

Leave a Reply

