Five Year And Ten Month Birthday Cookies

Once kids start school, summer birthdays get hard to plan. When Ellie was in daycare/preschool, I knew the kids in her class. They were all together, even in the summer. Now, I won’t even know who her teacher will be until a few weeks after her birthday, yet she will be out of this class for a month. She’ll be in camp this summer, but I don’t know how many kids will be in her bunk. She is involved in many activities, but Daisies stopped meeting for the year, roller skating will be over before her birthday, and cheer leading won’t start until after her birthday.

At least they don’t cheat us baking moms out of the chance to make a treat for the class to celebrate our kids’ birthdays. This week, the last week of school, we are allowed to send in something to celebrate the summer birthdays. So I made some cookies for Ellie’s class.

This is what I sent in to school today. It occured to me, as I was making them, that there are more boys in her class than girls. And  I wondered if I should have made them all shades of pink. Then I figured that when it comes to cookies, kindergarten boys are probably color blind.

So, does anyone have any advice on planning birthdays for very socially active kids? Until she is old enough to tell me who her friends are. Right now, if I ask her who her friends are, she will list her whole class, all of the Daisies, and four kids she met on the playground yesterday.

 

3 thoughts on “Five Year And Ten Month Birthday Cookies

Leave a Reply

