Our Fourth of July (2012)

This year, our Independence Day was made even more special by the arrival of my new little nephew, Ethan. Weighing in at 8lbs, 8oz, he is actually the pip squeak of his family (his sister and brother were 9lbs and 9lbs 0.8oz respectively) πŸ™‚

He was born Monday night, so he was, so to speak, given his independence from the hospital yesterday. To make the transition a little easier for his older siblings, I had my niece over for the afternoon, while my three-year-old nephew napped and the baby got settled in. My mom dropped her off with a bag full of arts and crafts, so while Ben napped, the girls and I I beaded their camp shirts and the girls colored.

Of course, there were cookies, too!!!

When Ben woke up from his nap, the kids used edible ink markers to color in cookies that I had baked and iced in white the night before.

Of course, in the good old New Jersey humidity, the icing didn’t harden completely, and Ben had more fun stabbing the cookie with the marker.

I also made each of the four kids (with teeth) their own personalized patriotic cookie, which they had for dessert at my parents’ house.

Ignore the bleeding. They were done quickly the night before in very humid conditions. Call it an experiment. It failed, lol, but the kids didn’t seem to mind. I also used SugarBelle’s idea and added rainbow sprinkles to the dough. The kids LOVED that. Such a small detail made them so happy.

Bryan had to work. Although he is usually off on Wednesdays, it was his holiday on. They had a party, and everyone who works in his department brought something. I was told that when he went to sign up, someone had already written his name in under desserts. Next time, I might assume they mean Bryan should make something, but this time I made cookies.

I like how these turned out. Wet on wet in only three colors. It’s relatively easy and a bonus that they look like exploding fireworks!

How was your holiday? Did you do anything special, or bake anything pretty?

9 thoughts on “Our Fourth of July (2012)

  1. Even though Baby Ethan doesn’t have teeth, he enjoyed a small taste of your cookies too. He said they were delicious and that he enjoyed napping on you yesterday!
    Btw, is it cheating that you can make initials for five children using just two letters?

  2. Congratulations on the addition to your extended family! Your cookies are beautiful and I didn’t see any bleeding. I haven’t seen Sugarbelle’s post yet, so I was glad you mentioned what the red, white and blue was in your dough. I was really curious. What a super fun idea and I’m sure the kids loved them! I love that your hubby’s work signed him up for desserts. Nice compliment for you and it shows how smart they are πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

