Inspiration Challenge: August {“Staying Cool”)

There are so many ways to interpret this month’s challenge theme. Something about it makes me think of Snoopy sitting on top of his little red dog house wearing sunglasses. Or The Fonz.

Of course with this excruciatingly hot summer, it’s not surprising that Melissa and I both went with ways to keep from melting 🙂

Originally I was going to make a cookie shaped like my house, and one shaped like my thermostat set to 68. And me sitting on the couch under a blanket. But then I realized that we got out a lot this summer. Despite the heat and humidity, we got outside for a little bit almost everyday. Monday through Friday, Ellie goes to camp and she gets to swim at least twice a day. When it’s really hot, they swim again, or they play water games. Ben comes with me to the gym every morning and afterwards we go swimming. He’s like a clingy, cuddly, little koala bear in the water, especially after he decides he can swim on his own, then discovers he can’t yet.

On weekends, we need to provide our own water. So we drag out the kiddie pool.

Or we water the lawn and ourselves.

(I really wish I had popped those air bubbles. In real life, I swear, my kids don’t have holes in their backs and arms. Scraped knees and bruised shins, but no holes. But, ummm… Our sprinkler does have a hole. It’s pretty beat up.) (And while we are keeping it real, Ellie wants me to tell everyone that she does not even own a red bikini, and Ben does not have a blue suit. I was using icing that I had already from her birthday party cookies.)

And once again, I have to share one of my favorite cookie decorating tools.

My ceramic egg dish. It’s perfect for pouring a little vodka or extract into one of the wells, and a little luster dust, disco dust, or food coloring into another. Love it.

So, now go over to Simply Sweets by Honeybee and see what I could really go for right about now. And don’t forget that you can link up your “Staying Cool” cookies, whatever your interpretation may be!

****I forgot to mention September’s Challenge is celebrating “Talk Like A Pirate Day” on Sept 19th. So get ready to share your pirate cookies!****

8 thoughts on “Inspiration Challenge: August {“Staying Cool”)

  1. I’ve already told you how much I love your cookies but I’ll tell you again. They are awesome! I love how I thought of something food related & you thought of things to do to stay cool. Very creative. By the way can you please make Fonz cookies one day. That would be cool!

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Challenge: August {Staying Cool}

Leave a Reply

