Tiny Chanukah Cookies

A few months ago, Ellie and I read The Borrowers. It was cute, it wasn’t the original, it was the book based on the screenplay. But she enjoyed it and wondered if there might be Borrowers living in our house. My thoughts are that they probably don’t live here. We have newer construction, and we don’t really have floorboards, more of a hardwood laminate. But Ellie wanted to find out anyway. Then last week, I found the movie The Secret World of Arriety at the library, and now we are obsessed with Borrowers. We leave things out for them now, just in case. So we made them some Chanukah cookies. Just in case.

Teeny Cookies (Ellie's Bites)

If you can’t tell how teeny they are, here is a picture I took to put them in perspective.

Teeny Cookies w Barbie (Ellie's Bites)

No, we didn’t bake them in Barbie’s kitchen. Although she is dressed similarly to how I like to dress when I bake. Not really. I’m usually in yoga pants and a tee shirt.

Teeny Cookies and Barbie (Ellie's Bites)

Anyway, we left them out for the Borrowers last night. And, wouldn’t you know it? There was one missing this morning and this note was in it’s place….

Screen shot 2012-12-08 at 10.32.40 PM

If you can’t read it, it basically says, “we live in the woods behind your Sir’s (she calls my father “Sir”) office (where I work, BTW) and I overheard you were leaving out some cookies for us, and we were passing by as we move somewhere warmer for the winter so we stopped in, but we are very small and we only took one to share”. And there is a warning not to go into the woods without mommy and daddy, because we wouldn’t want her to go looking for them.

Ellie’s little mind is going to be blown when she sees this.

Here is a close up of the mini platter I made to put the mini cookies on:

Teeny Cookie Platter (Ellie's Bites)

I cut out a fancy oval, outlined and flooded it in dark gray. When it was fully dried, I used the dark gray to pipe a design, let that dry then sprayed the whole thing with Wilton’s Silver Color Mist. The mini cookies were all handcut and decorated like regular cookies.

Happy second day of Chanukah!