Lemon Sandies

I’m turning into that lady who complains all the time. I don’t mean to do it, and actually, I wouldn’t even be bringing it up if this wasn’t a cry for help!

SO- I need a little sleep  advice. Advice on how to get more sleep. My son has stopped sleeping. I know you’re saying “again?”. We went through a rough patch almost a year ago when he learned how to climb out of his crib. We got him a toddler bed and put a gate on his bedroom door and soon he was sleeping like a baby again. We got the most complicated gate on the market figuring it would take him a few years to figure it out. Wrong- it took him two months short of one year. Now, with his new found freedom, he’s discovered he has the capability to explore the house at all hours of the night.

So- what do I do now? Any advice? I will be forever grateful if you leave me the solution in the comments section! I would be so grateful that I would tell you where you can find the recipe to make these:

Lemon Sandies (Ellie's Bites)

 

Who am I kidding? I’m too tired to be coy. Of course I am going to share. You can find the recipe here. It is by my friend Melissa at Simply Sweets by Honeybee.

I made a few substitutions. Out of necessity, mind you, not because I thought they would be better this way. I didn’t have salted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp salt to the cookie. And I didn’t have pistachios on hand, so I pulverized 1/2c almonds and 1/2c white chocolate chips in a food processor and used that mixture instead. These cookies taste like buttery air. They are so light and fresh. I wish I still had some in the house since I tend to crave carbs when I’m really tired.

OK- thanks in advance for your advice. I know since I told you where you could find this recipe, you’ll hold up your end of the bargain 🙂 I’m really looking forward to getting a full night’s sleep tonight!

5 thoughts on “Lemon Sandies

  1. You probably won’t like my answer, but since you asked, I’ll share. We have one girl (who gave us our first grandchild 2 weeks ago!), and 2 boys. I didn’t parent the girl in her baby years, so can’t lend help there. I did, however, have the 2 boys, and each one either tried or successfully climbed out of their crib…once. They each got one swat on their disposable diaper-clad bottoms, and neither one climbed out again. The second one stayed in his crib until he was THREE!! He ‘yiked it’! That was his bed. I too climbed out one time, at my grama’s house, and fell back asleep under the crib, which back in the day had frilly ruffles around the bottom, so there was an extensive house search by two frantic grandparents and then the police were likely brought in, as well as my parents, which was probably the worst of the two calls for them to make! Apparently, the next time I attempted this Houdini act was at my house, and my mom recalls swatting my cloth diaper-clad bottom, and she recalls that I didn’t do it again. None of us were beaten, but just abruptly reminded what the boundaries were, and we were safer and slept better thereafter. If social services needs my address to talk to the two teen boys, have them contact me via Facebook!

  2. We had our son’s door cut into a double-dutch door by a carpenter friend (he charged us $25). He put a nice ledge on it and made it look very nice. The lower portion can be closed and the top left open so we could hear him at night. Both pieces can be locked together to turn back into a solid door. When he was able to open the door, we put a small hook and eye lock-thingie on the bottom portion that he coudn’t reach. It was simple enough that we could easily unlock in an emergency or in the dark. Best solution we ever found…I even put another double door into my studio so I could work but still keep an eye on him in the family room and I could keep things out and he wouldn’t bother them. I hope you find a solution that works for you! Good luck!

  3. First…the cookies look amazing…I can not wait to try them!

    Second…I am soo sorry you have having trouble keeping your little one in his room at night. Maybe try to cut out the naps, or do your best to tire him out in the evening? Is he old enough to be “bribbed” to stay in his room? If so, make his room safe, and tell him that if he gets up, he can not leave the room, if in the morning, he is still in his room, he gets a reward. Could you put a screen type door on his room, that locks from the outside, that way you can see in and he can see out, but he can not leave the room. Maybe a dutch type door, that is open at the top, again, locking from the outside, that is a little stronger then a baby gate. I wish I could help more..but my “baby” is 17…and we never had that problem with him. Best of luck. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

