Irish Coffee Caramel Cookie Cups

Irish Coffee Caramel Cookies (Ellie's Bites)

I’m going to go ahead and bet that the first person to put alcohol in coffee had to be the mother of an almost three year old. It just seems like the perfect example of invention being born of necessity. Of course the idea of taking this alcohol spiked coffee and baking it into something probably came from a mom with a food blog, right?

Caramel Filled Irish Coffee Chocolate Cookie Cups (Ellie's Bites)

My friend Melissa, at Simply Sweets by Honeybee, has been hosting these weekly link parties. There are no rules, she just wants anyone to link up anything they have been working on. Actually there is one rule- it must be your own work. Everyone likes to show off a bit and have their work appreciated.

I haven’t exactly been using these weekly link parties to get attention- although it would be nice. I mean I’m home all day trying to keep two kids alive and happy, doing laundry, and cooking nice healthy meals. It’s always nice to hear someone say “great job, Steph!” when I know I’m not going to get it from said kids or the husband who benefits from the clean clothes and healthy meals. Lol. And every week, I get a “Great job, Steph” from Melissa. It’s awesome!!!

Anyway- that’s not why I’ve been doing it. I’ve been trying to stretch my imagination and comfort zone- encouraging myself to try making something other than a decorated cookie or a recipe that came from someone else’s work. I’m making it a goal to take a recipe and make it my own, then to play around with the styling and photographing of whatever baked good comes out of my oven.

This week, I had the idea of Irish Whisky Caramel in my head (probably from Pinterest) and with St. Patricks Day coming up, it was a good time to try this. I can honestly say, I was determined to make this work. It took me two batches of caramel and three rounds of cookie trials to get what I wanted, but I’m glad I persisted because these are GOOD.

Irish Coffee Caramel Filled Cookie Cups (Ellie's Bites)

Before making these, you’ll need to prepare a batch of Irish Whisky Caramels. I used this recipe only I used 1 tsp vanilla rather than the whole vanilla bean and I skipped the step of sprinkling extra salt on top.  Next brew yourself a cup of strong coffee. I boiled it a bit to reduce it and make it a little stronger. You can definitely use it strait from the cup. Add a splash of Bailey’s Irish Creme to the coffee and stir well. If you have a responsible adult with you who can watch your kids, reserve a tablespoon of the spiked coffee, let that cool completely, and drink the rest. If it’s not a good time for you to drink it, just set the whole thing aside to cool off. You’ll only be using a tablespoon full.

Ingredients

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter softened
  • 1/3c sugar
  • 1/3c brown sugar
  • 1 large egg at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1tbsp cooled coffee mixture (with or without Baileys)
  • 1/4c unsweetened cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4c flour
  • Irish Whisky Caramels cut into 1/4inch squares
  1. Preheat oven to 325* and line 24 mini cupcake cavities with mini cupcake liners.
  2. In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment cream butter and both sugars until fluffy.
  3. Add egg, vanilla, and coffee mixture. Mix until combined.
  4. Mix in cocoa powder until combined, then add the salt, baking powder, and flour. Mix everything until combined.
  5. Use a 1tbsp cookie scoop to scoop dough into the cupcake liners. The dough will be sticky.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes.
  7. Take the pan out of the oven and, working quickly, gently press a caramel square into the top.
  8. Bake an additional 2 minutes.
  9. Remove from oven and let cool in pan until the cookies are set up (about 10 minutes) then cool completely on a cooling rack.

Caramel Collage

The longer you let these set up, the more the taste of Baileys and coffee will come out. If you want you can sprinkle a little salt on top or pipe a little whipped cream, or just serve with some Irish Coffee.

 Simply Sweets by Honeybee

4 thoughts on “Irish Coffee Caramel Cookie Cups

  1. Pingback: Inspiration Challenge: May {Cookies You Fear} | Ellie's Bites Decorated Cookies

Leave a Reply

