Good Luck Charm

When Melissa of Simply Sweets by Honeybee asked me to be a part of her St. Patrick’s day collaboration, I immediately said “YES!”… because she’s my friend. However, when I thought about it, I almost wrote back and backed out. The project (as you probably read in the title of this post) was to cookify our lucky charm.

I’m not saying I don’t have anything that I consider lucky. I have a particular spatula that I know if I don’t use it to scrape the side of my mixing bowl, my royal icing will fail. I have a cup that I have to use when I eat at my parents house- I know it’s my cup by the way it was warped in the dishwasher. I have a favorite coffee mug.

But honestly, would any of these things be particularly fun to cookify?

Then it hit me.

Lucky Charms (Ellie's Bites)

When Ellie was born, my dad bought her a little pink security blanket. The first time we put it in her carseat, she immediately snuggled up with it.  She was only a few days old, but she wrapped her arm around it and held it close. When she stopped sleeping sometime around four months old, we would put her in her swing in our room, give her the blankie to snuggle into and she would go right to sleep. At the time, we assumed she wanted to be in our room, close to us. Or that she had a little reflux and was able to sleep better slightly upright. At around six months old, we asked her pediatrician when she could have her blankie in her crib. He said, “not until she can recognize it and acknowledge it’s presence.” We held the blankie in front of her, she immediately grabbed it to her chest and snuggled it to her face. The doctor said, “go ahead and give it to her tonight.” That night she slept through the night for the first time in two months!

100_0358

So as soon as Ben was born, (three years ago tomorrow!) we bought one for him too. He actually never took to the one we bought him. Then one day when he was about a year, we were walking around Pottery Barn Kids. He grabbed something off a shelf as I pushed him past in his stroller. And since that day, he refuses to sleep with any other blankie!

Lucky Charm (Ellie's Bites)

Confession- sometimes when I can’t sleep, I borrow one of their “spares” (and believe me, we have many spares) and something about it helps me drift right off. And since sleep is one of my most favorite things in the world, something that helps all of my family members sleep? THAT would have to be my lucky charm.

Now, there are so many other amazing interpretations of “Good Luck Charm” in this collaborative project that you need to go check out. I can’t wait to read everyone’s posts to see what makes these things lucky for them!

Good-Luck-Charm-Collage-Numbered
1)      Opal Ring by Tami Rena’s Cookies
2)      My Children by Kookie Kreations by Kim
3)      Hamsa & Evil Eye by Not Your Everyday Cookie
4)      Wonder Woman Shirt by The Cookie Puzzle
5)      Attitude is My Good Luck Charm by Pink Little Cake
6)      Cookies Are My Lucky Charm by The Baked Equation
7)      Good Luck Money Tree by Semi Sweet Designs
8)      Security Blanket by Ellie’s Bites Decorated Cookies
9)      Lucky Number 32 by Cristin’s Cookies
10)   Always With Me by The Cookie Corner AZ
11)   Leprechauns by Trilogy Edibles
12)   Good Luck Elephants by Simply Sweets by Honeybee
10 thoughts on “Good Luck Charm

  1. I wish you could have seen me at my computer reading this with a big loud awwww coming out of my mouth. That photo is so beyond adorable and what a fun and touching story. I think maybe we need to get Abigail a special blankie 😉

Leave a Reply

