Chocolate Orange Coconut Cookie Bites

Spring has finally arrived. I think.

I think we had a really nice day. Then a really hot one. Then a really cold one.

Anyway. I know Spring has arrived, not only because it is after March 20th, but because I have the desire to organize my entire life and bake with citrus. Actually, the baking with citrus desire is kind of a much stronger desire. But I spend a lot of time THINKING about organizing everything in my life.

I made these (because of the desire to bake with citrus, not because of the desire to organize my life, but I DID clean up afterwards so that was a start, right?)

Chocolate Orange Coconut Cookie Bites (Ellie's Bites)

Chocolate Orange Coconut Cookie Bites

  • 1 stick unsalted butter (softened)
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg (room temp)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp orange extract
  • 1/4 c unsweetened dutch process cocoa powder (I use Hershey’s Special Dark)
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (I use Ghirardelli)
  • buttercream (your favorite recipe- I’ll link to the one I use after the instructions)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut (sweetened is OK if that is all you can find, but the cookies will be really sweet)
  • 1 tbsp orange sparkling sugar
  • 1 tbsp orange zest

Chocolate Orange Coconut (Ellie's Bites)

  1. Preheat oven to 325F, place liners in two dozen mini cupcake cavities.
  2. In a stand mixer, beat butter and both sugars until fluffy. Add egg and mix well. Mix in vanilla and orange extract.
  3. Sift together cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, and salt directly into mixing bowl and beat slowly until just combined then increase speed until dough is smooth.
  4. Using a 1 tbsp cookie scoop, scoop dough into the mini cupcake cavities and bake for 10 minutes.
  5. Remove pan from oven, and working quickly and carefully, place a chocolate chip on top of each cookie. Bake for two more minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for five minutes in the pan, then completely on a cooling rack.
  6. While cookies are cooling, toast your coconut. (Spread onto a baking sheet and bake at 350F for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Check often and remove before the coconut browns too much.)
  7. Mix the coconut with the orange zest and sugar. If you use unsweetened coconut, you might want to add more sugar to taste.
  8. When cookie bites are completely cool, top with a swirl of frosting and roll in the coconut mixture.

Chocolate Orange Coconut Cookie (Ellie's Bites)

I like the buttercream recipe from Simply Sweets by Honeybee only in this case I omitted the almond extract.

I’m linking this recipe up to Simply Sweet Saturdays. Now I’m going to go organize something. Or bake something.

 Simply Sweets by Honeybee

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Orange Coconut Cookie Bites

Leave a Reply

