Lemon White Chocolate S’mores

I notoriously do not get sick. I’m not superhuman or even super healthy or anything, it’s just that, well…. ain’t nobody got time for that! It’s not that I NEVER get sick, I had the flu five years ago. I had a stomach bug (or bad fro-yo) two years ago. I just seem to bypass the really bad colds and stuff that most people get regularly. When I feel something coming on, I literally tell myself, “nope, I don’t have time for this” and I’m not joking- it goes away.

Or so I thought.

I had a little teeny tiny abnormality in some recent bloodwork and  I went for a follow up visit yesterday. In completely unrelated news, it turns out I was walking around with 101* fever and an ear infection in both ears and DID NOT KNOW it!. Seriously, I am a stay at home mom. We don’t get sick days! So now I’m all Motrined and Augmentined up and I’m thinking it’s a good thing I have a bunch of stuff I’ve made recently and I have the weekend with no baking to do and I can take a little break.

Lemon White Chcolate S'mores (Ellie's Bites)

So, I didn’t mean to bore you with the details of my inner ears. I just think it’s funny that the day before my appointment, I had rushed Ben to the pediatrician because he had a little pink tinge to his eye. It turned out to be minor trauma or a scratch, not pink eye (yay! Don’t have time for pink eye!). Do you find yourself so in tune with your kids’ or pets’ every minor medical symptom but  you can’t even catch your own?

Anyway.

I made some homemade marshmallows for the first time the other day! I slightly modified a recipe I found on line and I added a little lemon extract. They were really yummy on their own, especially after being left uncovered for two or three days (we are huge fans of stale marshmallows around here). But what made them even more delicious, was popping them under the broiler for about five minutes then sandwiching them between cinnamon graham crackers and some quality white chocolate. Yum-meee.

There is something really satisfying about bringing sugar to a boil then whipping it into a beautiful fluffy cloud….

Lemon Marshmallow

….pouring it into a pan, then turning it into little perfect squares of creamy sugar.

lemon marshmallows

Recipe (slightly adapted from here)

Ingredients

  • 2 envelopes unflavored gelatin
  • 8 tablespoons cold water
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp lemon extract
  • Powdered sugar as needed
  • Several bars of good quality white chocolate (one- two pieces per sandwich)
  • Graham crackers (one board per sandwich)

Lemon Marshmallows and white chocolate

  1. In a small bowl, combine gelatin and 8 tablespoons cold water.
  2. Line an 8×8 inch pan with parchment and sprinkle it generously with powdered sugar
  3. In a large saucepan, combine the sugar and cold water, on medium heat, stir until the sugar is dissolved.
  4. When the sugar is dissolved, add the gelatin mixture and bring to a boil.
  5. Cool slightly then pour into the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with the whisk attachment.
  6. Add salt, vanilla, and lemon extract and beat for about 10-15 minutes until it becomes soft and fluffy and doubles in volume. (It will start out brownish but will become white as it gets fluffy.)
  7. Pour into the prepared pan and let set until it can be touched without sticking.
  8. Slice into cubes and coat the cubes with powdered sugar on all sides.
  9. Let sit until completely set.
  10. Set broiler to high heat and line a baking sheet with foil.
  11. For as many sandwiches as you want, break a graham cracker board in half. Place a half of a board onto the baking sheet and place a marshmallow on top.
  12. Broil for about 5 minutes or until browned. Keep an eye on it.
  13. When done, remove from the oven, and immediately place a piece of chocolate and the other half of the graham cracker on top.

Enjoy!

I’ll be linking up to Simply Sweet Saturdays at Simply Sweets by Honeybee

 Simply Sweets by Honeybee

6 thoughts on “Lemon White Chocolate S’mores

  1. I hope you feel better soon. Homemade marshmallows have been on my bucket list forever…why have I not tried them yet..well..because I am totally scared of them. You make it sound so easy…so if I make them, you will be on call for an emergency, right?

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Challenge: May {Cookies You Fear} | Ellie's Bites Decorated Cookies

  3. My 9-year-old daughter helped me make these this morning for my sister-in-laws birthday. They will go perfectly with her S’mores kit gift basket. I’m so excited. Thank you for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

