White Chocolate Coated Key Lime Bites

Remember when I lost all of my will to do anything this summer? When the last time I posted anything was way back in May? I barely remember either? This summer is going by way too fast.

Then about a week ago, my friend Melissa (from Simply Sweets by Honeybee) texted me that there is a contest happening, hosted by Shelly of Cookies and Cups and Kristan of Confessions of a Cookbook Queen. All I have to do is search through their hundreds of inspiring recipes, pick one, become inspired, and create a recipe based on the recipe that inspired me. The due date? The day before Ellie’s 7th birthday. Well, we know that wasn’t going to happen. Besides preparing for this party, I had also committed to about 140 cookies for various friends, also for the same day. But somehow, I kept going back to it (I work best under pressure).

It didn’t take long to find my inspiration recipe. I had had Kristan’s chocolate covered key lime cups pinned for ages. Add that to my obsession with Chobani’s key lime yogurt flips and I even had my inspiration modification. So with a little more arm twisting from Melissa, I made these:

Key Lime White Chocolate Bites (Ellie's Bites)

 

There was a little trial and error involved, including an entire bowl of burned chocolate (melted chocolate and I are not the best of friends) and an attempt at incorporating quinoa (don’t ask). But I finally came up with this and they are pretty darned good if I do say so myself. (Then I almost gave up entirely anyway because I went to edit my pictures and write my post but Picmonkey was down and miraculously Shelly and Kristan extended their deadline and here I am!)

First make the filling as per Kristan’s instructions or with my minor modifications:

  • 6 oz cream cheese
  • 1/2 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 tbsp key lime flavored extract or emulsion
  1. Place all ingredients in the bowl of a stand mixer and beat with the paddle attachment until smooth.
  2. Refrigerate for several hours until slightly thickened.
  • 1/4 -1/2 cup crushed pretzels (don’t use unsalted- you’ll want the salted kind to balance out the sweetness of the candy melts and compliment the key lime filling)
  • 1 package light green candy melts.
  1. Line the cavities of a mini muffin pan with paper liners.
  2. Melt the candy melts according to the instructions on the package.
  3. Measure a teaspoon of the chocolate (candy melt) and spread along the bottom of the paper liners, spreading the chocolate upwards along the liner.
  4. Sprinkle crushed pretzels onto the chocolate and press them gently into the chocolate.
  5. Spoon about a teaspoon of the filing into the shell created by the chocolate.
  6. Chill in the freezer for a few minutes then scoop another teaspoon of chocolate on top, spreading it gently with the back of the spoon.
  7. Sprinkle more crushed pretzels on top.
  8. Chill overnight.

First, I have to apologize that I have NO IDEA how many this recipe yields due to aforementioned trial and errors. My guess would be about 24.

Second, let them chill overnight. Don’t skimp. The flavors will meld and the sweetness of the candy melts will combine with the salty pretzels and mellow a bit.

Third, I am entering these White Chocolate Coated Key Lime Bites in the Creative Recipe Contest hosted by Confessions of a Cookbook Queen and Cookies and Cups!  Adapted from Chocolate Key Lime Pie Cups by Confessions of a Cookbook Queen.

3 thoughts on “White Chocolate Coated Key Lime Bites

Leave a Reply

