A Cookie Platter That Is All About Children

A few months ago, I was approached by a teacher at Ben’s daycare. She asked if I’d be willing to make a platter of cookies to donate to the basket raffle the daycare was running to benefit Alex’s Lemonade Stand. Of course, I said yes. I planned to make some lemons and other citrusy themed cookies.

As the time approached to actually make the cookies, I started rethinking the theme. The proceeds were to go to Alex’s Lemonade Stand: a charity started by a child to benefit children. The children of the daycare center would be spending the day raising money by assisting with the lemonade stand and selling basket raffle tickets. A new school year was starting.

I’ve never had the chance to make back-to-school cookies in the past, so I decided to make this platter back-to-school themed with a twist. I wanted to make the cookie all about celebrating children.

Back To School Platter 2014 I searched the web for quotes that celebrate children.  (Especially Bill Watterson- I could spend all day reading Calvin and Hobbes and not find a single comic that doesn’t remind me of my kids! Maybe I should have made an entire Calvin and Hobbes platter!) While decorating, I decided I wanted to make the cookies look childish, like a child sketched them, by roughly outlining the cookies with a black food color marker. I’m really happy with the way this set turned out.

Here’s a close up of the quote cookies:Back To School quotes cookies (Ellie's Bites)(The pictures aren’t all that great, sorry!)

I’m thrilled that I could be a part of this special fundraiser and so happy to have people who actually bid on my cookies!

 

I’m linking this post up to Party In Your Pjs at Simply Sweets By Honeybee and The Cookie Puzzle.

One thought on “A Cookie Platter That Is All About Children

Leave a comment