Cookies From A Christmas Card

I can go two ways when it comes to getting ready for the holidays. I can be really on top of things, or I can go shopping the morning of our celebration. I’ve been in both places. Usually it’s the morning of scenario, but once or twice I’ve been prepared.

This year, I can thank Hani (of the beautiful food and photography blog, Haniela’s) for putting me ahead. She invited me to be a part of this amazing project where our objective was to find an inspiring Christmas card and cookie it- without necessarily duplicating it. So it was over a month ago that I found myself scoping out the Christmas cards and getting into the holiday spirit. And now, with two weeks left to go before the first night of Hanukkah, I am just about finished my shopping! Yay! And I have these cute cookies to share with you! Yay!

I walked into Papyrus and I was immediately drawn to this card. I liked the unusual colors, and I liked the polkadots. I tried really hard to find something I didn’t like because Papyrus cards don’t tend to be on the cheap side, and I was hoping to talk myself out of spending 24.99$ for 10 cards. But I couldn’t find anything I didn’t like. Plus I kept picturing that cute striped ornament on the right as a potential snowman. That’s how I wound up making these:

And these weren’t difficult at all, either. I started a few days ahead, and made the polkadots as RI transfers, piping circles and ovals in the colors I wanted, then covering some of them with gold disco dust.. Then I flooded the cookies in my base color blue and placed the polkadots onto the wet blue icing. Some of the cookies, I flooded in the base color, then covered in gold disco dust  before placing the polka dots.

These cookies were really easy and fun to do. But the best part was knowing that I was a part of this project along with so many talented ladies. I can’t wait until all of our posts are up so I can see everyone’s Christmas card cookies! Thank you, Hani, for allowing me to be a part of your project!

3. Georganne, LilaLoa
4. Lorraine, Lorraine’s Cookies
6. Pam, Cookie Crazie
8. Mariëlle, De Koekenbakkers
9.  Nadia, My Little Bakery
10. Liz, Arty Mc Goo
11. Callye, Sweet Sugarbelle
14. Meaghan, The Decorated Cookie
15. Paula, Vanilla Bean Baker
16. Miriam & Estíbaliz, Message in a Cookie
18. Myriam, Chapix Cookies
21. Maryann, Cookie Artisan
22. Hani, Haniela’s

20 thoughts on “Cookies From A Christmas Card

  1. I LOVE the colors and designs! You did such an amazing job with this challenge and what a fabulous tutorial! It’s been an honor to work with you!

  2. Pingback: Christmas Card Cookie

Leave a comment