Maple Cookies

 

The Maple cookies earned my mom’s approval so I can share the recipe 🙂

  • 1.5 sticks of butter (or 3/4c)
  • 3/4c granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • Roughly 2 Tbsp Maple Syrup (the better quality, the stronger the maple taste)
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4c flour (or a little more if dough is very sticky) plus more for dusting

(I totally estimated the syrup and cinnamon to taste. I just poured them in strait from the bottle while taste-testing the dough… umm… if you are going to go by MY method, add syrup and cinnamon BEFORE you add the raw egg.)

  1. Cream butter in a stand mixer with the paddle attachment. Slowly add sugar and continue to beat until pale and fluffy.
  2. Add syrup, cinnamon, and vanilla (to taste or to my rough measurements) and mix.
  3. Add egg and mix until incorporated.
  4. Add salt and slowly add flour (1 cup at a time). Mix until dough starts to clump and stick to the blades of the paddle. (Dough will be slightly sticky because of the syrup, if it is so sticky it doesn’t clump, add a little more flour)
  5. Divide dough in half, wrap in plastic and chill for at least 24 hours. (The reason I say this, is that I tasted the dough immediately and then periodically over the next day and the maple flavor definitely intensified over time… and Wendi, this is why you saw the dough in my fridge, but I offered to make brownies instead of cookies, lol!)
  6. When ready to roll out, lightly sprinkle a silicone mat and your rolling pin with flour and roll to about 1/4 inch thick. The dough was sticky, but if I kept a thin layer of flour under it, I didn’t have a problem rolling them out.
  7. Cut out shapes and chill (start the oven preheating to 350F)
  8. Bake for 11-13 minutes depending on the size and thickness of your cookies.
  9. Cool cookies on sheet then on a cooling rack.

These cookies were a little chewy right out of the oven, but after sitting for a day, became very soft.

To ice them, I used some RI I had left over, but added some maple syrup to taste (thinking that the flavor of plain RI would overpower the flavor of the cookie) and a little more sugar to bring it back to piping consistency.

NOW- this is what I will do differently when I make these again:

  1. Add a bit of maple extract to intensify the flavor a little more. (At the suggestion of our receptionist 🙂 )
  2. Add some pulverized walnuts to the dough.
  3. Use fresh RI, only adding maple syrup INSTEAD of the Karo syrup I usually use (instead of in addition to).

If you make these leaf shaped, check out my last post for a decorating suggestion, and PLEASE don’t forget to share your version with me!!!!

I’ll be linking this post to Wonka Wednsdays at Hugs and Cookies XOXO.

One thought on “Maple Cookies

Leave a comment